Oklahoma Tornado’s

My heart is heavy today. I’m a Oklahoman, therefore I know all about tornado’s and how devastating they can be. I’ve made many a trip to the storm shelter, including yesterday.

I watched, on TV, a massive tornado form in a town about 12 miles away. A tornado that has caused a LOT of damage. It leveled an elementary school, where it killed some children. Living in Oklahoma it is almost essential that you have a shelter, yet a lot of our schools do not, students are lined in the halls and told to cover their heads. This is not good enough for me. These tornado’s are F4 and F5 tornado’s with that size being underground is your best bet.

Once again I dropped off my children at school with a heavy heart. We would like to think they are safe at school, we want them to be safe at school, but I know as well as other parents know that no one in that school can guarantee that. Tragedies happen every day, not amount of planning helps sometimes.

http://youtu.be/Ss-YNyVO81A

Not sure why this video won’t embed, but you can click to watch.

We need shelters for our schools and I’m glad to hear people starting to talk about how to get this done. I’d pay any amount of money to have my kids and the rest of the students at our school to be safe.

If you’d like to donate I’ve provided some links for you to do so.

http://foundationbeyondbelief.org/crisis

http://www.redcross.org/charitable-donations

http://www.okhumane.org/blog/how-you-can-help-moore-tornado-damage

Another town (Shawnee, OK) was hit on Sunday as well, though there is not as much coverage about Shawnee, it had a lot of damage and two lives lost.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Environment, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Oklahoma Tornado’s

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    That was a serious storm – I spent some time in the cellar last night as it passed by. So saddened by it all.

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    You’ve been on my mind. It’s amazing how small the world can seem through blogging. I’m glad you and yours are safe but I know there is much heartache because not all are safe. I hope you get your shelters.

  3. jinkies says:

    I’m so happy you’re ok. It’s terrible that there have been so many lives lost. My thoughts are with you and your family and fellow Oklahomans.

    • Thank you so much Jenkies. Oklahomans will pull through because they have to. We’ve done it before and with out tornados like they are, we might have to do it again.

      Thanks for thinking of me. :)

  4. Heather says:

    Its so sad. My sister lives in that part of the country and she’s been lucky.

  5. anothernone says:

    As sad as this sounds, I couldn’t bear to watch the news coverage. I had to walk outside and breathe for a minute. My heart hurts so bad for the parents and families that lost loved ones. My children and I were luckily at home when the April 27th tornadoes tore through Alabama two years ago. My oldest is still terrified any time he hears about bad weather on tv or hears the weather siren.

    My thoughts are with you and the people in your state.

    • Thank you anothernone. One of my sons is terrified of tornados and always gets so scared if he even thinks we might have to go to the cellar.

      I’ve had to stop watching myself. It’s heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

