Ice Storm

DSC_0327I hadn’t had my “big” camera out in some time. Of course I have a camera at ready everyday with my iPhone and though it does take some pretty decent pictures I always enjoy using my Nikon.

Along with most of the U.S. we had an ice storm not too long ago. I don’t mind the ice too much if I don’t have to drive on it and it’s not knocking out my power. Neither happened with this storm.

DSC_0329I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I found it beautiful. Both to my eye and through my camera lens. I went out early one morning to let the chickens out. The world had not woken up yet. It was quiet except for the creak of the ice on the trees as they were weighted down and swayed in the breeze.  I stood for a moment and took it in. The ground was crunchy and made a loud noise as I walked to the chicken house. As I was trying to hurry and open the chicken house door, while trying to stay away from the rooster who knows he intimidates me, small birds were gathering over head to swoop down and grab some of the scratch I was throwing on the ground for the chickens.

DSC_0324I usually say I’m not a morning person. I hate to get up, but once up I find that the morning time is my favorite. It’s a new day, and with that new possibilities.

When the ice began to melt a few days later I found that beautiful as well. The sky was blue, not gray as the days before, and it shown off the ice like light hitting a diamond. It was falling from the trees quickly and with it the sound of crashing ice was all around. We have a small creek just next to our house and I stood and looked and listened for a moment. It was very noisy and very shiny. I enjoy these moments with nature. All that it is capable of. It’s beautiful and scary. It is an unstoppable force. One that I happen to enjoy, for the most part.

DSC_0347DSC_0330This is my favorite one.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Animals, Environment, Interesting, Life, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ice Storm

  1. bumfuzzled says:

    Beautiful! I always love it when the sun comes out and there’s still ice on the tree branches.

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    That’s my favourite one too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. jinkies says:

    Thank you for sharing! Very nice pictures :-)

Leave a Reply

