Healing Rooms

http://kfor.com/2014/04/25/more-oklahomans-turning-to-different-source-for-healing/

Thoughts or comments?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Healing Rooms

  1. Jenkies says:

    It’s ridiculous. At least they aren’t charging anyone. Haven’t had a lot of caffeine, so I’m grumpy ;-)

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    I can’t imagine asking God to heal me of my financial issues and then going out and buying a nicer wedding ring with the results.

    Have you ever just wanted a hug for what ails you or just to sit and have someone listen? Ever needed advice or council but just felt hopeless about asking? Ever had someone touch you gently when in pain and felt the body &/or the mind release with the human contact?

    I suspect that this approach even without God might prove to benefit people with some positive results in some cases. I sometimes feel healed when I leave my massage therapy appointment.

    Can you imagine non-theists opening up healing centers? Oh the riot that would cause. Think we’d make the 6 o’clock news? :-)

    • I do feel the power is very beneficial. A good massage works wonders for my body and mind! :)

      I’m sure, like you that if non-theists were to open such a place it would make the news and quickly people would say that it does not work.

  3. bumfuzzled says:

    The power of touch. A good friend who will let me bend their ear. A glass of wine. Those work best for me.

    When I was a believer I did try hands on healing/prayer for my son and myself. I was so excited each time because I just KNEW this was gonna be it! I’m sure you know how that turned out……

    But I will say, if it truly makes them feel better and nobody gets hurt, I think it’s fine.

    • ah yes, I remember well the excitement because I just knew my prayer was going to be answered. I wrote about the time I thought my son had been healed of his heart issue. It was a turning point in my journey. I was devastated when I came to reality and realized that no prayers had been answered.

  4. While I don’t believe in religiously based ‘miracles,’ I know amazing things can happen in nature. I also believe that a positive attitude and faith can reduce stress and speed healing. But I don’t believe God chooses to heal these people because prayer warriors have interceded for them. And what about when it doesn’t work? What do these warriors tell a dying man? “We did our part but your faith wasn’t strong enough?” “God works in mysterious ways?”

  5. I believe there truly is power in prayer, but not because God is looking down and deciding to answer the requests of “prayer warriors.” Faith, optimism and trust are all powerful emotions, and when bolstered by the support of others, a person’s own stress is reduced so that their body can focus more on healing itself. There are sometimes even miracles of nature, but I don’t think they are handed out by an all-seeing God.

    The scenario of the healing room is troublesome, however, because some people won’t heal – and what do the prayer warriors say then? “We did our best, but your faith wasn’t strong enough?” “God works in mysterious ways?” “Your death is part of a bigger plan?” Any scenario I can imagine is disturbing.

Leave a Reply

