How

I’m trying to figure out how to go about finding out the truth. I’m not really sure where to start, I mean if I search for proof of God and Jesus on the internet, I’m going to find it and if I search for proof to disprove God and Jesus on the internet I’m going to find it.

I could ask the AH, however I’m trying to figure this out on my own so I will have no doubt when I’m done that it was my research, my thoughts and ideas alone that brought me to my final conclusion.

Where do I start?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Agnostic, Atheist, Christian, God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How

  1. jhcckkm says:

    I did something similar when I first went to college. In my first semester, I took a philosophy class and I asked the instructor if I could to an extra hour on creation vs. evolution. He agreed. I spent the next 5 months researching everything I could….and when it was done, I was no longer a christian….but, an agnostic.
    I started with questions that just never made sense to me – – things like: 1) Why is there two different stories about creation in the bible – – and which one is true? 2) How could cain get married if it was only adam, eve and abel? 3) When god talks about creating man in THEIR image…who is the THEY that “he” refers to? 4) Why is the difference between the bible and tanakh (jewish holy book) so different….starting with the FIRST THREE WORDS “In the Begining” (KJV bible) vs. “When god began” (tanakh)…which INHO are VERY, VERY different? 5) How is the bible suppose to be the infailable word of god when, if you look at all different versions TODAY, they are SO different…and KNOWING that the book(s) have been around for hundreds/thousands of years before….is there more that is lost in translation? 6) The translation issue was even more important to me when I discovered just how easy it was to screw up the meaning of stuff through translation. I have family members in Germany and had wanted to share our end-of-year newsletter with them. So, after I wrote it, I found an on-line translator and pasted the newsletter into it. For the most part, it translated fairly well; however, I had referred to my children as “my kids” and that translated into “my goats” – – I also stated, “I hope all is well in your neck of the woods.” Which translated word for word…and as this term is not common in Germany, they were rightly confused about why I was discussing body parts in reference to the forest close to their home. 7) I did research on the different religious festivals/traditions that are currently observed and learned how they were originally pagan holiday’s. 8) I also researched how many other gods there were – – and how many were born on Dec. 25th (or so) of a virgin mother, with people bearing gifts, etc. etc.
    9) I did a LOT of atheist bible study – – and those are super easy to do – – go to youtube and type in “atheist bible study” and you will get TONS. Of course you can also go to Google and put in the same info…and it will generate LOADS of results. 10) I also read the bible with new eyes….I questioned what people TOLD me to believe. For example, the “eye for an eye” bull is totally understood when all of the section is read (Exodus 21:22-25), which ONLY discusses this when in reference to a pregnant woman. (It is unclear whether the person would suffer due to the harm of the woman, child or both….but, the important thing is that it is not in reference to any crime willy-nilly….only to that of pregnant women. Another example: Isaiah 43:11 says, “I, even I, am the Lord, and besides Me there is no savior.” Which of course blew me away, as christians believe that jesus is the savior sent by god (the same god that the jewish people believe in.) Or, Matthew 5:17 which says, “Do not think that I came to destroy the Law or the Prophets. I did not come to destroy but to fulfill.” This told me that all of the Laws from the OT were still in effect….which meant that if I wanted to continue as a practicing cristian, I really needed to study the rules I was suppose to go by….and when I did read them…..they are SCARY!!
    Anyway, those are some of the ways that I made changes to my thought process….if you have any questions or anything…holler.

Leave a Reply

