Dear Garden

Dear Garden,

I want to love you, I really, really do. I know I said I wanted to be more green, and really you fit into that more green world quite well, in theory, but I kind of hate you. I want you to look like this without much effort and work and weeding. I hate weeding!

Instead you look more like this.

Really my garden is not THAT weedy, but it is far more weedy than my, sometimes overbearing,neighbors. The same neighbor who spent  a whole day helping me plant said garden. I’ve never had a garden before. My mom had one when we were kids but I didn’t pay much attention to it. She took care of it and we sometimes shucked the corn and snapped the beans, but that was it.

I want to love my garden, but I don’t, not really, and I hate that. I don’t look forward to weeding or watering for that matter. It’s quite a shame really, my dislike for the garden. With two little ones and a home to keep and laundry to do and dinner to cook and blogs to read and trashy tv to watch, there just is not enough time or energy to keep it up like I really want to do, except I don’t really want to do it, if that makes sense.

I will do my best this year, but next I think I might try the garden boxes. They look like they might cost a little more money to start-up, but easier to keep up. Am I right or wrong about this? Do any of you have an opinion on garden boxes?

Despite the weeds my garden is producing pretty much everything I planted. I’ve lost a couple of tomato plants and a pepper plant to a gopher but other than that its’ all good.

Now I’m off to watch trashy TV!

Oh, and I wanted to include a link that a reader left in the comments of yesterday’s post. It has tons of information on it on how to start living a greener life.  It’s called Environmental Working Group and you can find the link here.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Garden

  1. Lee says:

    Just cut over from watching trashy TV to tell you that Earth Boxes work great. I’ve got 3 now and have grown several different vegetables in them over the years, as well as herbs and even flower bulbs (we rent and can’t do too much to the yard.) The only thing you really have to do is water, and you do that with the hose so no lugging involved.

    We move around with the military so this is a way I can garden at various housing/rentals. Although it is so easy I don’t see wanting to do much in ground when we do settle!

Leave a Reply

