Creepers


Something strange and scary happened today while I was taking my jog/walk. I believe that maybe, I just might have, possibly been about to be assaulted or kidnapped or something not good. Now with that said I realized that I can’t know for sure what his intentions were, but my instincts were ablaze and with everything that is in me, something was NOT right.

I always try to be conscious of my surroundings, especially when I’m alone in a place where there is some concealment such as trees or in an area that is generally hidden from public view. The walking track, in the park, in the center of my town, has several areas like this. There has only been one other time that I have been on the track when I saw no one else the whole time I was there.  This time was different.

As I was getting out of my car to begin my walk I noticed a car driving by with a fellow looking intently at the track. He then entered a small neighborhood next to the track and parked for a second. Then he pulled out drove by again, turned around somewhere, which I did not see because my back was to him and drove by again. I noted the car and the man driving it. What color his jacket was and that he had a hat on, however I could not see his face because he was too far away. I also noted that there where no other cars in the three parking lots in front of the track. I thought it was weird but continued on because I didn’t want to make something of nothing. I did have my ear buds in but my iPod was turned down low because I don’t want someone sneaking up on me from behind.  I also make it an effort not to look at my iPhone while out. I try not to do anything that may distract me from my surroundings.

I jogged through the first concealed area and every 200 feet or so I would look behind me and check to each side of me for someone in the trees. I then walked for a while still checking behind me every so often. As I entered the seconded concealed area I jogged again, still looking behind me every few hundred feet.  As I rounded the last bend that opens up on to the main part of the park I stopped at a bench to stretch my legs and back. I could see all three parking lots and there was not a car in any of them besides mine. I was just on the edge of the main park and there was some trees to my left but in another 100 feet or so there would be none on either side. I hurried through my stretches because I was uneasy and I looked behind me and there was a man quickly approaching me. It was HIM, the man in the car, I’m pretty sure. He had the same coat and hat, and I didn’t see a car around that he could have gotten out of. He was not there the last time I looked and when he realized that I saw him he slowed down and went across the park to a parking lot, walked around a few minuets and looked in the trash can. When I was far enough away that I suppose he figured I couldn’t see him good enough he walked back across the park and disappeared the way he had come. I kept my eye on him until he was out of sight. I jogged the rest of the way to the car as you can imagine.

After I was in the car and had calmed a bit I noted that I still did not see a car that he could have gotten out of. I drove the neighborhood just beside the walking track to see if I could see the car, it was not there either. I then went back by the park to see if he was walking around the track. I didn’t see him, however I did see a lady that was getting out of her car for her walk. I told her about what had happened, I felt that I could not let some other women enter those areas without telling them about the creeper. She ended up being married to some city councilmen here and said she would call him as she walked those areas, but still wanted to walk.

I feel that because I listened to my instincts, my gut feeling, that I might have diverted what was about to happen. Once again I can’t be for sure, but something was not right and I think the dude had ulterior motives and I might have been involved in those.

It may have been nothing and it might have been something, my gut feels like it was, but my brain has tried to figure it all out and I can’t ever know for sure. I didn’t feel safe in that second though and the guy really did come out of no where. However, I can’t go back by myself now. I have two little boys to think about. I so enjoyed my walks and it was good exercise but I will now have to find some other way to get it.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Life, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Creepers

  1. Michael Mock says:

    That is creepy. And I think you’re wise to trust your instincts.

  2. The Ol' AH says:

    I think you’d be wise to trust Jesus to kick that dudes ass. You should go on about your business when you feel threatened. Jesus has got your back.

    But then again..Jesus might want to use that pervert to learn you a good lesson in humility. He didn’t seem to value women and in the bible, rape was even ok… Either way, Jesus will be done!

  3. ... Zoe ~ says:

    I was just going to say, “Don’t you dare go back there alone.” However, I see that you’ve figured that out. I’ve never met a woman who’s ‘hint-of-danger-intuition’ was wrong.

  4. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Wait a minute… ?…is that “who’s” or “whose”…crap I’ve been away from blogging for too long. 🙄

    • theagnosticswife says:

      hmm I’m not real sure. I think it’s whose. However, I would never shun anyone for spelling errors because I make a lot of them! I’m casual here. 🙂

  5. ... Zoe ~ says:

    It’s “whose”…and me, I’m casual and half asleep. :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

