30 Days Of Truth-Day 8

Day 8  Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

I don’t think my 6th grade teacher liked me too well. I believe I annoyed her, of course I was in 6th grade and I can only imagine how annoying a room full of 6th graders must have been. The strange thing was her husband was my coach and bus driver and he liked me, (not in a creepy way), maybe that’s another reason I annoyed her. Anyway, she was the reason that for the rest of my school days I had a hang up about math. She made my next 6 years of school and two of college, hell where math was concerned.

We began learning fractions in 6th grade. I’d already had a hard time learning my time tables, but I had a wonderful teacher in 3rd grade who worked tirelessly with me to learn them. My 6th grade teacher, not so much. She became more and more annoyed with me and a few others when we didn’t catch on as quickly as the rest of the class. I became so lost and so frustrated in math from that point on. I went to her and told her I still didn’t understand and she said “I’ve already spent more time than I anticipated on this subject I can’t spend any more” and that was that.

I told my parents, but I don’t think they realized just how lost I was. My school was a tiny country school in the middle of no where. We had no alternative resources, such as tutoring or after school help. (As a side note undeniablymaybe and I attended the same small school. He was a year behind me. However, I did not graduate from that small school. My parents divorced when I was in the 9th grade and in the 10th I moved to another larger school.) It was only after I married and began cooking more that I began to understand fractions.

It was because I didn’t understand fractions that I flunked or barley passed every.single. math class I took from that point on. It was because of that lack of understanding that I had to take zero level math in my first two years of college and it’s because of that teacher, that I HATED/HATE math.

So it was my 6th grade teacher that made my math life hell.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in 30 Days Of Truth, Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 30 Days Of Truth-Day 8

  1. I just don’t think I ever grasped anything beyond your basic lower-level math. Algebra was a foreign language to me, and to a lesser extent, geometry. I just fundamentally do not understand Algebra. I was happy to barely pass it in college with a C.

  2. Michael Mock says:

    I enjoyed geometry, and I did okay with algebra – though I’ve since come to suspect that if I’d had it presented to me slightly differently, it might have seemed more… obvious. I never had Trigonometry, though, which made my college Calculus class an exercise in futility – I blame my advisor for that, though. He should have known better.

    I have fond memories of the “Because it’s obvious” axiom, which could be applied once in any geometry test that involved proofs.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I hate to admit it but I cheated my whole high school geometry class. I was seriously flunking trying to do it on my own and the teacher was no help because I was so lost. So I cheated on both homework and tests.

      Algebra I semi understood. I’ve never even taken a Calculus or Trig class. I’m a math loser!

  3. Angela says:

    My 6th grade teacher made me hate math, too, when she asked me in front of the whole class, “DO YOU HAVE A BLOCKAGE FOR MATH?” I got my first and only C *ever* in her class. (report card grade, not assignment grade)

  4. dam says:

    I loved math, but I SUCKED at English. All those grammar rules and graphing sentences. Then I got to 10th grade with Mrs. Pollard, the old nut, and she made us stand up and give presentations on grammar. I’m an introvert–and was extremely shy as a kid. I could not give a speech, especially on a topic I hated and didn’t understand. She pulled me aside and told me I didn’t belong in her “Honors” class. She talked to my parents, too, (who never bothered to ask me) and they all pulled me out and put me in a class with the biggest dummies and druggies. We have vocab words like , “special” and “convenient.” Mostly, we sat around and talked or just skipped class. So, I know how you feel. We don’t all learn in the same way, but, with few exceptions, we’re all capable of learning the same things. Funny thing is I went on to become a writing teacher. You just never know what you can accomplish if the right people cross your path…

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I can’t imagine I will ever LOVE math. Strange thing was I was good at accounting, just had the block in fractions area.

      Bummer, they sent you to the remedial English class(I was in that math class), but it seems to me that you have far surpassed what the silly English teacher ever thought you would!

  5. dam says:

    LOL. Thanks. It’s never too late for a career in accounting!

Leave a Reply

