To Delete or Not To Delete

How do you feel about bloggers who delete comments? There is a “mommy blog” that I used to read all the time as a Christian. I liked the blog a lot, but that was before it changed, the blog that is, and I guess before I changed as well. I read the blog every once in a while now and every single time I’ve read it, there is some sort of controversy going on. That is not an exaggeration. She is either apologizing for something or someone is calling her out on something that she later halfway addresses on her blog.

She gets hundreds of comments on her blog each day. The other day I stopped by and there was yet another controversy going on about a product giveaway on her blog. She wrote a long post on why she was wronged and that she was basically turning the other cheek like Jesus would want her to do. That’s fine I have no problem with that and who knows who was right or wrong or if it was all a misunderstanding. What did kind of bug me was that I commented “blah, blah, blah every time I visit there is some sort of controversy going on.” Now maybe I shouldn’t have put the blah blah part in, that might be considered not very nice, but she is very wordy and says the same thing over and over in a post but with different words each time. Hence the blah blah part.

After I post the comment I began to read some of the other comments and they all had one thing in common. They were all professing their love and admiration of the blogger. I noticed that not one of them was someone not agreeing with her. So I went to see if my comment was still there since I was not professing my undying love for her. It was not. It has been deleted. So I posted another comment asking if my comment had been deleted and why. That comment was deleted too.

I don’t think this is very good blog etiquette. I could and can understand a blogger deleting comments that are just plain mean and hateful, though I don’t know what I would do in this situation, however to delete a comment because the commenter did not agree with you or stated a simple fact I find that very distasteful and a bit disrespectful. So what was left was 222 comments of people agreeing and saying how much they loved her.

I think part of having a blog is that you are going to have some people who don’t agree with you or who have a different opinion. That’s fine with me and I’m ok with someone not agreeing with me. It might make me uncomfortable, but I don’t think I would delete a comment just because they didn’t.

What do you think and how do you feel about only allowing comments that agree with you or your beliefs.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Christian, God, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To Delete or Not To Delete

  1. TheDon says:

    I believe that a certain etiquette must be maintained. Apart from that: “Have at ‘er.” We NEED honest and open discussion. It makes us better people.

    This is just the kind of ignorant behaviour that I found when I was involved with christianity. It gets real old, real fast.

  2. Well, technically, it’s her blog and as the owner she’s free to do whatever she pleases. That said, it’s disingenuous to say the least, to lead people to believe she only receives “fan mail” comments. Luckily, I haven’t received any negative comments from anyone, but I’d like to think that, unless they were downright nasty and vile, I’d leave them.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I agree she is free to do that and she does exercise that right quite a bit. I’ve not received any negative comments yet. I have to think though that I would allow them to stay. We will see when it happens I suppose, but I’m sure I’ll write about it if it does.

  3. limey says:

    Certainly if someone is spamming or trolling then by all means remove their posts.

    If a post is being deleted just because it does not agree with your viewpoint, then I would class it as rude and disingenuous. I would go so far as to suggest for some people they have a need to be loved and having positive comments on their blog fulfills that need to the extent that they have top remove all others.

    I have had cases where I have commented on blog posts to correct scientific errors in the post and my comment has not been approved. Its happened a few times and I suspect these people are so caught up in their viewpoint that they are incapable of entertaining the counter argument, no matter how polite.

    Personally, I think WordPress should put a tag in that a comment from a user has been removed.

    If I had a really negative comment that I didn’t like, I’d add a response comment directly addressing it and if necessary censor specific words. I’d take the view that leaving a rude comment only shows up the commenter as being a jerk. If the comment disagrees with me, then its cause for discussion, which can only be a good thing.

    On the flip side, there is a creationist blog I read where the author seems to allow all posts and I read it purely because every post attracts a few scientists explaining why the post if wrong. It is a very educational experience reading the comments and sometimes I wonder why the blogger in question accepts the comments because (for me at least) they serve to show why I was right to turn my back on Christianity and Creationism.

Leave a Reply

