Shower Time

Not my shower head. You wouldn’t want to see mine, it needs to be cleaned. Maybe I should shower less and clean it?

When my boys were infants I longed to be able to take long showers again. To not be worried about someone crying or hurting themselves some how while I was basking in the warm water goodness. Crying babies+fast shower=not goodness. Now that my boys are older I’m able to take longer showers, however they are rarely without interruption and I’ll take that. I’ll take that over not getting them any day.

In the shower has always been where I do my best thinking. I used to pray in the shower, that’s where I thought I heard God best, I no longer waste my time with praying but it’s still a spiritual ritual of sorts for me. I still do my best thinking in the shower. It’s where I let my worries or cranky mood wash away. It’s where I can reflect on what I need to get done that day. It’s where I come up with blogging ideas(kind of like this post) and most recently it’s where I decide what color I want to paint the master bedroom.

With that said it’s also where I’m interrupted several times or where I have to parent from breaking up a fight that’s taking place on the bed. It’s also sometimes where I have to yell, close the door and threaten to open it when one of my kids is taking a shower or bath so they will know just how stinkin cold it gets when the door is open.

A shower for me is how I reconnect with myself. Do you have any rituals or daily routines you’d rather not part with? What are they?

Source

I found this while googling shower heads. Who wants this in their bathroom!?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shower Time

  1. dam says:

    Haha. Nice post. Funny picture, but GROSS! I have my rituals. As I get older, I seem to add more. There’s my coffee-as-soon-as-I-roll-out-of-bed ritual. There’s my boot camp or kick-boxing or pilates ritual next. Then there’s ……………….. all the stuff I do in between the night ritual. My husband and I love to sit down and chat with our glass of wine. I guess at one point it made me feel grown up. (It was my parent’s ritual.) And now it is a “sigh” at the end of the day….

  2. My place like this when I was in high school (well, the summers) was our pool in the backyard. I would swim or float for HOURS on end, with the radio turned on (to KJ103, naturally lol) and just think about everything – from what fly new clothes I was going to buy for school to the nature of life, etc. I miss that. I do still find it though, whenever I’m alone, doing something I like, such as a walk in the park on a Sunday, and so forth.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      ah yes KJ103! That was the go to station of the day. It’s nice to have that time to ourselves to regroup. Before the park creeper incident I used to do it on my walks as well.

Leave a Reply

