Japan

The time change has my sleeping a little messed up. I lay in bed last night for an hour, most of that time I spent thinking about Japan and their current situation. I feel so sad for them. I think sometimes I’m a little too empathetic, if there is such a thing. It’s like I take a situation and put myself into it then think about how I would feel. I would be terrified. The thing that would have scared me the most would have been the tsunami, because of my fear of water. Sure the earthquake would have scared me. A 8.9 is WAY bigger then the measly 4.0 I’ve experienced here in Oklahoma. Then there is the very real threat of a nuclear meltdown. That would terrify me as well. I just think of all those people who made it through the earthquake and tsunami and now they have to worry about radiation poisoning. It’s just sad and devastating and the people who are saying that they deserved it because of bombing Pearl Harbor in WWII. What the hell?

Anyway, those are my thoughts on the matter. It makes me sad and I’m too empathetic at times. Not only with people who I don’t know but with my family and friends as well, which is probably why I let what they say and think affect me more than I should at times.

I’ve not donated yet. What organizations are you using to donate to for the disaster in Japan?

There are people somewhere in all that water. I didn’t search long for a video because it’s late and I’m tired. I’m sure there are far better ones out there. Also the reporter seems kind of nonchalant about what he is seeing doesn’t he?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Agnostic, Atheist, Christian, God, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Japan

  1. Michael Mock says:

    There’s a list of legitimate charities here:
    http://www.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/asiapcf/03/14/iyw.howtohelp.japan/index.html

    Author Walter Jon Williams suggests that you favor the International Red Cross over the American Red Cross, but they’re both legitimate organizations. He also mentions the opportunists and scammers who are (inevitably) starting to use the tragedy to enrich themselves:
    http://www.walterjonwilliams.net/2011/03/corpse-eaters/

  2. Heather says:

    http://givingaid.richarddawkins.net/

    I “heart” Mr. Dawkins, so Hubby and I donated here…

    It’s so sad over there…wish there was more I could do…

  3. Holly says:

    I feel exactly the same as you about this tragedy. I’ve donated to Humanist Charities and the American Red Cross, both secular organizations. You can find a link to Humanist Charities on my blog in the right sidebar.

Leave a Reply

