Couch to 5K-Week 1 Day 1

You guys! Ugh! I started the Couch to 5K program today. Thank you (I think) D’Ma for introducing me to this. I wanted to start jogging and ultimately do a 5K but I didn’t really know how to go about it other than just getting out there and running. This program sets it up week by week for 9 weeks. And yes, there is an app for that! It was 2.99, which I thought was a bit high. I don’t normally like to pay more than 99 cents for an app and I’d rather it be free, but it tells you verbally when to walk or jog and you are able to use your iPod with it.

That was a lot of rambling to tell you I about died. No not really but after I was about halfway through I really, really wanted to stop. I wanted to give up, head back to my car, get a big coke at Sonic (anyone else like Sonic pops) and go home and sit on my rump. My legs were killing me and it was freakin hot outside. Oh I just wanted to whine and whine, kind of like I’m doing now! However, I did it. I finished the whole 30 mins and I feel somewhat proud about that, but this is only the first day and I know I’m going to be sore tomorrow.

So, my plan is to jog Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I’m telling you this so maybe, I will feel more accountable and really push myself if I know I’ve publicly announced my plans. I don’t enjoy exercising, but I do want to be healthier and in return be more active for my kids and myself, but I sure do like just sitting on the couch.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Couch to 5K, Random Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Couch to 5K-Week 1 Day 1

  1. D'Ma says:

    Yay! Congratulations on completing the first step. Seriously, I had no idea what the heck I was doing. I just knew I wanted to get into shape and at the time I needed the stress reliever(it’s great for that, btw). The first week I thought there’d be no way in the world I’d ever make it to week 9. But it does get easier. Hang in there and don’t give up!

    Incidentally, I did stop jogging during the winter months because I don’t really like to run at night by myself, but I’ve been inspired by you to get back out there. So starting tomorrow, I’m starting all over again. We can do it together, if you want and try to motivate each other. πŸ™‚

  2. Justin says:

    Congratulations! It was about two years ago that I began my running journey in much the same way you are now. Health issues pushed me off the couch. D’Ma is right, it will get easier–you’ll shock yourself.

    One thing that kept me motivated was using a blog as a running journal. It was supremely helpful in me seeing my progress toward a goal race. Since you are training for a 5k, I suggest the same… although it can just be a pen-and-paper journal, it works all the same. I linked to mine in my comment link, if your interested.

    One more thing: my wife started a year before me (for much the same reasons as you describe). She is now training for her first marathon this fall. I only say that to warn you… once you finish your 5k, you’ll be looking for more races, and bumping up to 10k, 8 milers, 10 milers, half-marathons… it’s addicting. πŸ™‚

  3. Alise says:

    I think my oldest daughter and I are going to do this. I need to get my fat ass less fat and she will help me kick it. Neither of us wants to do it, so I figure we’re probably the best two in the house to make it happen.

    Will check the app because I don’t want to carry a timer with me. I have SOME standards.

    • D'Ma says:

      Okay now I feel like a total geek. I have this big, bulky, black stopwatch/timer/heart rate checker thingy/whatever else those kind of watches do. πŸ™‚ I should just be able to speak into it and say, “beam me up Scotty”.

      • theagnosticswife says:

        As I told Alise I’m all about making things easier. Also I didn’t want to have to remember to push buttons when I was trying not to die. πŸ™‚ My Iphone is able to do everything I need except “beam me up” I wonder if there’s an app for that. haha πŸ˜›

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I didn’t want to have to carry the timer and my phone and my keys, so I checked for an app first. I’m all about making things easier, if at all possible.:)

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Thanks MM. We will see how tomorrow goes.

      • Michael Mock says:

        I’ve heard really good things about that program, so I have high hopes for it – and you. But, as various martial arts instructors have pointed out to me, there’s a fine line between “pain is weakness leaving the body” and “pain is your body trying to tell you something important” and only you can tell the difference.

      • theagnosticswife says:

        In my case it’s “You’re in pain because you let yourself become a fatass” Hopefully it won’t become “now you’ve hurt yourself exercising because you’re a fatass.”

        Actually it could be worse, but I don’t want it to get to that point hence the attempt at running. Thanks for having high hopes for me!

  4. Nadine says:

    Way to go! That’s definitely a good program. Have you signed up for the race you’ll do at the end yet? I’ve found it helps to motivate me when I’ve already paid the registration fee. πŸ™‚

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Hi Nadine! No I’ve not signed up for anything yet. I’m scared! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. lac says:

    I did this program (sort of) about 2 years ago with a friend and I ran two 5k races. I have terrible time, but still – it felt wonderful to run 5k without stopping. I’m trying to get back into the swing of things…I’ve only been jogging for about 2 miles lately…you are motivating me:) If you lived in my area, I would have done this with you!

    Oh and on the spiders…I dread them. We currently are being invaded by cicadas that have a 13 year cycle. I’ve only been in this area 6 years, so this is my first welcome to them. All through the day, we hear this hum that sounds like a flying saucer. My daughter was trying to catch one, but I warned her not to bring it near me;) She’s sort of a tom-boy. Google one…you’ll see…it gives some serious competition to your black widow in terms of gross-factor!

    • theagnosticswife says:

      LAC-Glad I could motivate you, now lets hope I can stay motivated! Too bad we don’t live in the same area. There are a few others who read this blog that jog we could all go together.

      About the cicadas we have those here in Oklahoma. I’m actually not afraid of those and have even held them in my hand. The do look creepy though especially when they shed their skin. They don’t last long in or around my house because the dogs and cats go after them.

      My husband on the other hand hates them. He says they chase him while he mows!

  6. prairienymph says:

    Good for you! I used to run before I got married, as a stress relief and I miss pounding out all my anger on the trails. Now I keep active by biking my kids to preschool, the library, etc. Actually not having a car has been good for my health πŸ™‚ I don’t think I would have discovered biking otherwise.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Biking sounds fun, but wouldn’t work very well in my small town. Things tend to be on super busy roads or spread out far apart.

Leave a Reply

