Black Widows are Creepy

Thank you all for the kind and encouraging words about my attempt at the couch to 5K. It really does make me feel like I just might succeed at it. I’ll continue to keep you updated.

Now look what I just found in the flower bed in my front yard.

Yes, that would be a black widow. A giant black widow! I HATE spiders. Really I do. When I saw this huge spider crawling up the side of the house I went into the “go get dad, oh my gosh, go get dad, hurry, hurry” hysterics. I can deal with small spiders outside. I don’t usually smash them. If they get in my house that’s another story. Small spiders I can handle. Giant poisonous ones not so much.

This is the second one we have found this week. Did I mention I hate them? I did not get this close to the giant poisonous spider. Thankfully I already had my zoom lens on my camera and was able to get a few pictures before the AH sprayed it with spider spray.

Look at it! Look at those creepy legs! Now I feel like I have spiders all over me.

Anyone find anything creepy or scary near or in your house lately?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Interesting, Life, Random Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Black Widows are Creepy

  1. Michael Mock says:

    We have ants in the kitchen, which is annoying us to no end. However, the only creepy/scary thing in recent days was the back bathroom. Firstborn is just finishing up the antibiotics for his ear infection, and they’re… affecting… his bowels. So some time this afternoon, he ran inside in a great hurry. Fast as he is, he wasn’t fast enough.

    The rim of the toilet was one of those sanity-shattering moments in parenting.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Seriously Michael I’m laughing while watching my DVR’d Dancing with the Stars. We’ve not had the toilet rim moment yet but how about a shart accident in a four year old’s pants at school and it stayed there for two hours until he came home. Guess who got to clean that up? Guess who’s underwear went into the trash:)

  2. TheDon says:

    We once found a western widow under our kids sandbox. It’s pretty much the same kind of spider. My wife was cleaning out the sandbox and she called me out to see what it was. She had it dangling on the end of a stick. I recognized it, told her and she proceeded to smash the thing. Crazy thing is that our kids actually played right next to it.

    True story.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Recently the boys tree house had a hornets nest in it and they played in it for awhile before we noticed it. Hornets have been everywhere here lately.

  3. Sara says:

    There is nothing creepier than spiders to me though water snakes are a close second. A water snake surprised me and my hubs while we were canoeing and I thought I was going to have a heart attack. I reacted like a lunatic- screaming “SNAKE!! SNAKE!!! PADDLE BACK!! GO BACK BACK BACK!!!”

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Ugh I don’t like water snakes either! I always thing of that one scene in Lonesome Dove when Newt gets bit in the face by a water moccasin. Scary stuff. Have you seen that movie?

      • Sara says:

        No, I had it on my netflix queue but now I’m not so sure it’s a good idea… I’d probably never want to get in a canoe/kayak again!! haha… I’m a wuss.

        I’m gonna double up and comment on your C25K W1D2 post too 🙂 First. You are a rockstar. Running with a broken toe?! Holy frick!

  4. prairienymph says:

    I’ve come through a week of cleaning puke and diarrhea, which doesn’t seem to be done yet… but the scariest thing I have to deal with is paperwork – I made a mistake on my taxes and now have bunch of forms and stuff to go through.
    When I lived in non-northern climates, I was the spider/scorpion killer. It scares me how much I love to destroy scorpions.
    but paperwork… really hard for me, like restricted breathing and stuff. Which is why I was a terrible admin assistant.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Oh sorry you are dealing with puke and diarrhea. I dealt with that about 2 months ago from both of my boys. It was a long, dirty week. Hope everyone feels better soon.

      We have scorpions here but thankfully I’ve not seen one in a long time. I don’t like paperwork either mine usually consists of all the stuff the kids bring home from school that I don’t know what to do with.

  5. Morgan Barnes says:

    So damn creepy!!!!! All three pictures are!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

