Couch to 5K-Week 1 Day 3

Today was by far the hardest day for me. I thought after day 2 was pretty easy day 3 would be easier. I was wrong. My calves were hurting so bad and my left leg’s calf muscle was so tight I could hardly walk on it let alone jog.

Why are my calves hurting so bad? Is this normal? Is it my shoes? Not drinking enough water? Will it go away soon?

I am not looking forward to Week 2. As a matter of fact I’m wondering if I should do week 1 again. I don’t feel ready for week 2. Week 1 is still hard.

Remind me why I want to do this again?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Couch to 5K. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Couch to 5K-Week 1 Day 3

  1. D'Ma says:

    If I had to guess it’s because you probably pushed yourself harder on day 2 because it seemed easier. Maybe you were a bit more sore than you realized. If you’re like I was you’re working muscles you forgot you even had. Hang in there. Give yourself a couple of days of rest and when you pick up day 1 of week two you’ll probably be really surprised. I know I was. I felt much like you after week one. If you try day 1 of week two and you feel you can’t handle it, you can always back off and go back to week 1. That’s an accomplishment to have done this much, at least it was for me. I’m not a runner and I used to hate to sweat. After doing this program I actually really don’t mind so much. 🙂

  2. sara says:

    Don’t get discouraged, some days are harder than others and usually the day threes were the worst for me. Something that might help with your calves is to notice how you are running. If you’re pushing off with your toes a lot, like how we go up on our toes when we go up hills, then a lot of strain is getting put on your calf muscles. Try to land on the middle of your foot. Water is important and LOT’S of stretching. I always get really impatient with the stretching and then my hubs scolds me. Last thing, if you aren’t already a banana eater, get some of those bad boys cuz they can help your muscles recover. Good luck!!

    By the way, I’m totally feeling your vibe today. Pretty sure my legs aren’t speaking to me right now but I’m hoping with some patience and open communication that we can continue being friends.

Leave a Reply

