Tornado Season is Here

It’s May in Oklahoma and that means it’s tornado season. We made our first trip to the cellar tonight. I don’t really like going to the cellar, but I’m glad we have it because we’ve had to get in it at least once or twice a season since we got it about three years ago. Last year in May a tornado completely destroyed the Loves store 5 miles from my house. It’s still not been rebuilt. Last year it hit very close to our home. I’ve not been out and about to see how close it may have been this time, but I saw some seriously scary clouds right before I got in the cellar.

Today I was better prepared. I had gotten our cellar bag packed and taken to the cellar. I killed all the spiders in there and packed a bag with my camera, laptop and the dog leashes and gathered the cat carrier. Trying to drag two dogs and a cat to the cellar with you while trying to get two kids who are scared and a husband with a gimp knee is no easy challenge. I had to leave the Great Dane in the house and the other two cats were outside.

Sadly, I dropped my beloved Iphone in the wet grass on my way to the cellar. I grabbed it as fast as I could and it seemed to work ok until my brother called and I couldn’t hear him. Now in a last-ditch effort it’s in a bag of rice, which I’m told will draw out any moisture. Though I’m really bummed about my phone I’m glad my family and friends are ok and all I’m dealing with is a broken phone and some red mud. There is a family in a town about two hours away that is missing a 3-year-old child. Homes are destroyed. There are people in Joplin Missouri who have lost their whole neighborhood and almost their whole town. Remembering that makes the mud and the iphone easier to deal with.

Such is life in Oklahoma during tornado season.

This was our cellar steps last year. Look at all that red mud! I made sure it was not as messy this year. We did this by putting a piece of wood down at the entrance. So we didn’t drag as much mud down.

I know some of the storms headed to Texas after leaving Oklahoma. I hope all my Lone Star State readers made is safely through.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Life, Random Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tornado Season is Here

  1. TheDon says:

    I really hope that it passes you by. I’ve been seeing the carnage and devastation on television. Please keep us informed if you can. And good luck.

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Like TheDon, we’ve been watching as well. I’m so glad you have a cellar. The whole cellar thing has been on my mind and I’ve wondered, is this maybe the way of the future? Maybe community cellars/underground bunkers are needed, if people can’t have their own personal ones?

    I agree. The mud and iphone, nothing compared to the pain of other people right now. 😦

  3. theagnosticswife says:

    Thank guys. We are fine and our house is fine as is everyone in my neighborhood. It seems that it mostly hit 2 towns before ours and then the one after us. The wind was scary crazy though.

    Though they still have not found the missing child. That breaks my heart as does looking at the destroyed homes and the family pets that got caught in the storm.

  4. D'Ma says:

    Glad you’re all okay. We don’t have cellars around here and many people live in mobile homes. The devastation and aftermath is always heart wrenching.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      When I was a kid we lived in a mobile home for 7 years. Every time is stormed I was scared to death because we had no cellar and our nearest neighbor was over a mile away. I used to lie in bed and work out in my head where I would go if I had to get out of the house.

Leave a Reply

