Couch to 5K-Week 2 Day 2 & 3

On Monday I told you I thought I knew why my left leg was STILL hurting. That day I did Week 2 Day 2 and I felt that as far as my stamina was concerned I was having no issues with being out of breath running for two minutes but I was barely able to do so because my leg was starting to hurt again. I tried to pay close attention to whether I was rolling my ankles in, thus causing my calf and foot to hurt. By the end of my workout I had decided that I was in fact probably rolling my ankles or at least that one in a bit and that I also needed new shoes.

I felt optimistic that with the new shoes I would get better support and hopefully my leg would stop hurting.

That lead me to today when I did Week 2 Day 3. I switched shoes, though didn’t actually buy any as I had a pair that I have barely worn that are only a few months old. I made sure to stretch and I was feeling good. I felt good after the first two sets of jogging and then my leg began to hurt so badly I ended up having to walk during some of my jogging time. Today my shin keeps having a sharp stabbing pain and that same spot in my calf has a dull pain almost all the time. When I run it gets so tight, the back of my calf hurts and every time my left leg hits the ground I can barely stand it. I was able to finish the workout but COME ON!!

I’m beginning to get discouraged because I feel like my body it ready to push forward but my leg is holding me back. Dr. Google says it may be a strained muscle and it could take some time to heal. I keep saying if it doesn’t stop I will have to go to the doctor, but really what are they going to do? Probably tell me to ice it, and take it easy. I do have spondylolisthesis, diagnosed a couple of years ago. I called to make sure it would be ok to jog with it and I was told that it was. My back has not been hurting at all and only occasionally do my hips hurt. It usually makes my sciatic nerve hurt and that’s bothersome.

I just want it to stop. It’s stopping me from doing what I want and I don’t like that. Plus it makes me feel old. 😦

Poo, I went back and read the spondylolisthesis stuff again because it’s been awhile since I read it and dang-it I think that’s probably what it is. I guess I’ll have to make an appointment. Wah.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Couch to 5K, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Couch to 5K-Week 2 Day 2 & 3

  1. ... Zoe ~ says:

    I made the mistake of ignoring what was a stress fracture in my 3rd metatarsal in my right foot early this winter. Not going to the doctor prolonged my healing and caused unbelievable pain and through out the rest of my body posture and I still am limping from time to time. I finally did go to the doctor and it is now healed but walking around on it and doing stuff I shouldn’t have done only caused more stress on other areas of the foot and my body.

    I’d say, cease all running until you know for certain that you haven’t got a serious injury. Unless you need to run for the cellar. 😦

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I agree Zoe, that I should probably get it checked out before I do anymore running. I also hope I will be doing no running to the cellar anytime soon again, or for that matter for the rest of the summer. 🙂

  2. D'Ma says:

    I actually thought that the other day when you mentioned the bruising in your ankle. I’m not a medical professional of any kind, but that didn’t sound too good to me. It could be a stress fracture and continuing to run on it will only make it worse. Better to be safe than sorry. Continuing in pain that doesn’t improve will only discourage you anyway.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I wondered the same thing D’ma. I’m not that old and I’m not terribly overweight I had lost a couple pounds before trying to jog but carrying twins did a doozy on my back. I guess it’s back to yoga for me for a while.

Leave a Reply

