Ramblings of A Tired Person Who Is Avoiding The Next Load of Laundry.

There never was a child so lovely but his mother was glad to get him asleep. –Ralph Waldo Emerson

Someone forgot to tell my kids that Summer break from school means you sleep later than you did during the school year. I think the memo they must have gotten said, get up two hours earlier than you used to! I am tired. The AH is tired. The kids do not seem tired, that is until they are so tired that they are crabby and irrational. That’s always fun to deal with!

Of course some of it is my fault for staying up until 2:00am several nights in a row. That’s usually never a good idea, unless you want to deal with tiredness. As a matter of fact the AH and I are in the habit of generally staying up until at least midnight every night. So basically I’m going to bed and getting up all in the same day. Does anyone else do this? Why do I do this you may ask? I don’t know would be my sometimes answer and the other answer I would give is because after the kids go to bed, which is usually 9:00pm(I would like sooner about 8:30 but when the sun is still out it’s hard to convince your children that yes, indeed it is bedtime)it’s my time to veg out. To watch that mindless, smutty tv that has been sitting on my DVR or in my Netflix que. It’s my time to roam aimlessly around the internet. My time to just talk with the AH without a million and one interruptions from my precious, but super talkative and busy boys. Also it’s the time for other stuff with the AH, which I won’t get into, I’m sure you understand. 🙂

I have a million things I’d like to do in a day. I only get about 1/4 of those actually done and that’s usually not the fun stuff. It’s the must have’s like a clean toilet and clean clothes. The me before children would be walking around in a stressed out stupor because of all the stuff I want to do and can’t or don’t have the energy for at the moment. The me now, after children and after everything else that has taken place in the past five years, now realizes that having fun and making good memories for myself and for my children is what is really important right now.

That sometimes means leaving dishes in the sink overnight, not vacuuming the floor everyday, having to dig in a basket of clean but wrinkled clothes for a pair of shorts. Of course I would like my house to be sparkling clean all the time, just like the homes I see on some of the decor blogs I read. I have to remind myself that those lovely clean homes, with perfectly clean children and mothers who are not in stretchy pants and a t-shirt, lives are more than likely not as portrayed every single day. I’m sure they deal with dust bunnies, cat vomit, dirty dishes, bathrooms and counters and cranky exhausted children all the while being tired themselves.

That’s true right? I know I’m not the only one who stays up too late, has cranky, loud children, cat vomit in the floor on occasion(seriously annoying) and wrinkled clothes(that spray de-wrinkler works great by the way.) Am I?

As strange as it sounds my children being born prematurely and being in the NICU taught me to chill the hell out. I cannot and should not expect myself to have it all under control and perfect all of the time. I used think that of myself and I’m not going to lie I still do with some things, but where the house and chores are concerned I’ve let it go a bit. It will all still be there the next day and the day after that and the day after that.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ramblings of A Tired Person Who Is Avoiding The Next Load of Laundry.

  1. Alise says:

    Have you seen the Go the Fuck to Sleep book? I swear, that’s up there in hilarious moments for me. Wish I’d had that when my kids were wee – it would have helped!

    I think prioritizing what you’re doing is absolutely the right way to go. Good for you. Know what’s important to you and your family and do THAT. Like you said, everything else will be there later.

    (And I’m commenting to avoid cleaning my sons’ room that is nas-tee. Ugh.)

    • theagnosticswife says:

      haha for some strange reason my kids wanted to clean their rooms last week, so I jumped on that and had them help me. That probably won’t every happen again 🙂

      I’ve not read the book, but I’ve seen the cover and the title. It looks hilarious to me and really what parent doesn’t feel that way sometimes.

  2. Michael Mock says:

    That’s true right? I know I’m not the only one who stays up too late, has cranky, loud children, cat vomit in the floor on occasion (seriously annoying) and wrinkled clothes(that spray de-wrinkler works great by the way.) Am I?

    It’s not just you.

  3. Carolyn says:

    A corn dog in the purse is the best thing i’ve heard all week. Luckily i carry small purses 😉 That story made my day!

Leave a Reply

