I Spy With My Little Eyes.

Things I’ve found alive in my house recently.

Two moles. Not on the same day.

Picture Source

Three small snakes,once again, not on the same day.

Picture Source

A frog. This one happened today.

Things I’ve found dead in my house.

A huge rat.

A small snake.

I think my cats are good hunters, especially the three-legged one, but they don’t finish their kill and then they bring it to me.

Twice I’ve chased a mole with a plastic bowl in the middle of the night. I then had to go outside in my pj’s to release said, very ugly mole. Where was the AH during this you may ask, usually asleep, though he did help me chase a mole once. I take that back he helped me with a snake once too.

I’m not sure if these creatures are getting in the house on their own or if my cats are bringing them in through the cat door. Either way I wish it would stop.

Have you found any creatures, dead or alive in your house lately that aren’t supposed to be there?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Life, Random Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Spy With My Little Eyes.

  1. Heather says:

    Ewe! Moles are ugly!!!!!! Sorry bout it. I hate being surprised over creatures that aren’t supposed to be there.

    We find dead mice all the time. We live in the country and have mice, but we also have three cats who are good mice-ers. We have garden snakes, coyotes, rabbits, skunk…

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Same here. We live in a small country type town, which is the suburbs of a much bigger city. So though we are in a small town we have a little over an acre and live next to a creek. We have coyotes, deer and I’ve even seen wild turkeys that live in a bunch of trees in the field behind our house. There’s no telling what you will see when you walk out our back door.

  2. Sara says:

    I grew up with cats and they were always leaving us gifts- moles, rabbits, birds, snakes… my mom always freaks out.
    I did find one of those creepy million legged silverfish bugs in my bathtub this morning- YUUUUCK!!!!!! I know it can’t hurt me and I’m being irrational but those things freak me out. I sprayed it with tub cleaner and then mustered my courage to remove the body. Bleeeeeeeehhhhh. I hope this is not a recurring issue.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      haha I’ve used everything from bathroom cleaner to hair spray to kill spiders before. I usually only use one of those if they are big or really creepy looking or they jump. I don’t like jumping spiders.

  3. TheDon says:

    The neighbourhood we used to live in had rats running around. While they didn’t actually enter our home, they did roam in our yard. I killed a couple myself and my dog did her share as well. I’m quite relentless when it comes to catching and killing rodents.

    With that said, we did live in a place that had a couple of rats. We poisoned them only for them to die in between the floors. The smell was nauseating but only lasted for about two weeks.

    Right now, we have a couple of squirrels that simply won’t leave us alone. My dog is too old to kill them, and they are proving faster than me. One is pregnant, so that compounds the problem. They like to get into the shed and muck about. I almost killed one but alas, it escaped to pester another day.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Squirrels don’t seem to be an issue here, though they were in our last house. Thank goodness because they can cause lots of damage and can be a nuisance. Maybe the dogs or cats keep them at bay here. But just about every other rodent, spider and some snakes can be found around here. I usually don’t kill them unless it’s necessary( I’m an animal lover) but make no qualms about killing spiders if they enter my house. Also I hate flies.. We have a couple of huge toads that come up to the back porch at night to eat the flies. They just sit there with the cat and dog. They are not scared at all.

Leave a Reply

