Zeeo

How was everyone’s holiday weekend? Ours started off great, we had a family BBQ at our house everyone seemed to have a nice time. Except our 11 1/2 year old Great Dane, Zeeo, who began acting abnormal that evening and it just got worse from there.

This post is in memory of our first animal child. Who came into our lives a happy, fat, 6-7 week old puppy. Who was way bigger than he realized.

Zeeo loved anything sweet and while heading to his bed he would stop immediately if he smelled cookies. He began playing with and eating toilet paper rolls as soon as we brought him home and he continued to do that for 11 1/2 more years.


I’m sure I could go on and on about his antics over all the years he was with us. He was defiantly a character.

Zeeo began to act weird the evening of July 4th. We thought he might just be too hot, or too excited with all the people and kids running around.  We let him in and tried to make him comfortable, he seemed to feel better within a few hours. Before we went to bed we let him out but he came back in acting weird again.

He was pacing and drooling and panting hard, he seemed very uncomfortable. I began worrying I knew about three things that could cause him to act that way and none of them had a happy ending. We stayed up until 2:00am with him trying to make him comfortable.

July 5th in the morning he was getting worse. We took him to the vet and my suspicions were confirmed. He was experiencing GDV or bloat. He began to fail fast. While the doctor was trying to get and X-Ray he collapsed on the floor at the clinic. He was in so much pain. It was time to ease it. The AH signed the form and we were with him as he breathed his last breath(the kids were with my MIL). My heart is still heavy and it’s been painful watching my children mourn their first death. The AH is so sad as Zeeo was really his dog.

Thank you Zeeo for 11 1/2 great years. We miss you terribly, your bed looks sad without you. We are sad without you.

Zeeo’s Midnight Shadow

December 1999-July 5, 2011


About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Zeeo

  1. What a beautiful boy! I’m so sorry for your loss. 😦 I’m sure you’ll find comfort in 11 1/2 years of great memories.

  2. sara says:

    So sad. Losing a pet is terrible. But I agree with the above, he looks like a wonderful dog. Sorry for your loss.

  3. D'Ma says:

    Gorgeous dog! Sounds like he wanted to be a big ole lap dog. It really is like loosing a member of the family after that many years. {{{TAW&Family}}}

  4. Michael Mock says:

    I’m never sure that anything I have to say will be helpful in these situations, but I’m very sorry for your loss. Losing a pet is never easy, and Zeeo was obviously a much-beloved member of the family.

  5. Heather says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Losing a pet is like losing a family member. We have lost two dogs since I have been married.

    Let yourself feel the loss and grieve. Its the best thing you can do in a situation like this.

  6. Holly says:

    This post brought tears to my eyes. I am deeply sorry for your loss. I wish you and your family peace.

  7. I know what it’s like to lose a dog. I am sorry.

  8. TheDon says:

    I’m so sorry. I can’t imagine what how my family will feel when our dog closes her eyes to the black. My thoughts are with you.

  9. theagnosticswife says:

    Thank you everyone, for your kind words and condolences. While we’ve been sad, we are moving forward. My sons are begging for a guinea pig. 🙂 I say no, not right now, maybe when they are older and can help care for it.

  10. Ahab says:

    My condolances for Zeeo’s passing. He sounded like a sweet and fun companion.

Leave a Reply

