Baby Bird Saga

Tuesday morning around midnight, before I went to bed, I let my dog out to go to the bathroom. That’s when I saw the baby bird, sitting on the back porch, next to one of the cats. The bird seemed unharmed, and I waffled on what to do. Do I bring it in for the rest of the night to protect it or do I sit it in the yard somewhere and let it be? Ultimately, I decided to put it in a box and sit it on the screened in porch.

When I worked at the vet clinic, I hand raised a baby blue jay once. Though that was not the only time I tried to hand raise a baby bird, it was the only time one survived. So I knew it would be best to leave the raising to the mama bird. So, when I got up I put the baby bird on a chair in the backyard, in the box. It wasn’t very long before the mama bird found her baby and began to feed it. I hoped for the best and the boys were excited that they got to see a baby bird.

We watched it on and off all day through the window, it seemed to be fine until the next day, (Wednesday) when it wasn’t. I wasn’t the one who found it dead either. In a moment of what would turn out to be bad parenting, I sent K2 to see if it was still there. When he came back into the house he looked sad. He said the bird was dead. Then he went to his room. Ugh!  I should have known, to check on it myself!

Later in the day, K1 decided he wanted to bury the baby bird. He dug a small hole, placed the baby bird on the end of the shovel and then placed it in the hole, then covered it with dirt. He then said to me “I did the right thing, I helped take care of nature” to which I had to agree. K2 wanted nothing to do with the burial, he was still sad because mom of the year here, sent him out to find a dead bird.

Poor mama bird was so attentive all day staying by her babies side and feeding it. Today she was nowhere to be found, having realized the her baby was dead. Sometimes watching nature take its course sucks.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Bird Saga

  1. NotTheSecondComing says:

    You are not a bad parent for exposing your child to the reality of death. Death is a part of life that we are to quick to push to the back of our minds. He will be stronger for it.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I’m not opposed to them being exposed to death. They have been before when our dog died not too long ago. However, I am a bit bummed that I didn’t find it dead first and then just show it to them. Instead, he was the one to find it dead and it bummed him out. I don’t know about you but I’ve found stuff dead before that I didn’t expect to find that way and it’s always a bit shocking at first. He’s fine now, but you know as a parent you want to protect them from some of the un-pleasantness of certain situations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

