Is Alexander Skarsgard an Atheist?

According to my search engine referrals a lot of people are wanting to know if Alexander Skarsgard is an atheist. Today alone, there have been 6 hits to the blog from people typing “is Alexander Skarsgard an atheist.” That’s today there is at least one everyday and about 10 or so a week. I’m not really sure why people want to know this. What does it have to do with his acting? Does it make him less attractive, more attractive(I vote more!)? I don’t know, but everyone seems to want to know his religious affiliation. So I did a short Google search and here’s what I found.

He’s from Sweden and this is what Wikipedia had to say about religion in Sweden.

Despite a high formal membership rate in the Church of Sweden, some studies have found Sweden to be one of the least religious countries in the world, with one of the highest levels of atheism. According to different studies, between 46% and 85% of Swedes do not believe in God.

That, however, does not make him an atheist. Nor does the fact that his father Stellan Skarsgard, is an atheist, who supposedly said this.

Skarsgård has said he considers the notion of God absurd and that if a real God were actually so vain as to constantly demand worship, then he would not be worth it.

Even after all that, and you have to take it with a grain of salt, it is the internet after all, I still wasn’t able to find anywhere where he said himself that he was an atheist. I did find however a few interviews where he had said he was “not religious” or when asked if he was religious in any way he stated “no”.

Those can be found here and here and here.

So, that’s what I found. One might assume that, therefore, he is an atheist or at least agnostic, but we can only assume that. As far as I know he has not said yes he is an atheist in any interview or statement I found when I Googled it.

So I hope that helps those who are daily finding my site to find out if Mr. Skarsgard is an atheist. I also apologize to my readers who have to once again see the horrid face of Alexander Skarsgard. 😉

Edited 11/8/2011: Alexander is featured in Elle UK magazine December 2011 edition. You can go here to read that interview.

In the interview he is identified as an atheist with these words. “An atheist, he doesn’t believe in an afterlife, ‘so I’m trying to enjoy this to the fullest.’

No matter what he believes it’s clear that he is an up and coming star. I look forward to following his career.

6/5/2012: My blog stats show that this is still a popular search question. Literally ten or more a day at this point. Alex just recently did an interview with Bullet (May 2012) Magazine. For those of you still trying to figure out if he’s an atheist,(though why does it matter) here’s a bit from the magazine.

“I grew up in a very secular society. I have atheist parents. My morality never came from religion or from scripture, but that doesn’t mean I can’t have the same values or ethics.”

Of course I agree with him. If you want to read the interview it can be found here.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Agnostic, Atheist, Interesting, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is Alexander Skarsgard an Atheist?

  1. Anisah says:

    You can put him up anytime! I usually don’t go for blondes, but yowza!
    That is interesting about so many Swedes not believing in God. Makes me want to move there! Though I’d better not, I might have to stalk Alexander Skarsgard. That might get me in trouble.

    Anisah

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Yeah not usually into blonds either. For that matter usually not into celebrity crushes. There’s just something about him though, besides he’s easy on the eyes. 🙂

  2. A fellow Swede;) says:

    At least we know he’s not religious. That’s all that matters really, but I believe he is more of an atheist than an agnostic since he was clear with the “Are you religious in any way”-question. Oh but what do I know? I find people’s religious opinions interesting for some reason, haha.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      I figured he’s an atheist as well, but I didn’t want to write that just by my assumption, and since I don’t know him, I don’t know what he really believes. I can only assume by what I’ve read. 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    Thanks for posting this, I don’t know why I do it; but I always find it interesting to see what people outside of the bible belt think and believe. With him being from Sweden it really piques my interest because he’s from a different culture and he’s not southern. I hope one day to actually get a chance to check out Sweden for myself, esp. if the men look like Alex Skarsgard, I may not come back! lol

  4. Bubba says:

    I think many might be interested in whether Mr, Skarsgard is an atheist or not , because he plays such a convincing one in the HBO series “Generation Kill”. Lovely site you have here.

Leave a Reply

