Bits and Pieces

*Schools going fine for both boys. K2 seems to be enjoying school more now.

*I’ve been picking up my friend’s daughter from pre-k last week and this week until Thursday. She’s in the morning class, but not at my kid’s school. She’s a good kid, but says she’s scared of cats and freaks out if one of mine walks by. Then today she fell asleep on the couch and peed on it. A lot. It was an accident but it was yucky and it was not my kids pee, if you know what I mean.

*K2 is stubborn, very stubborn. He threw a giant fit tonight because he didn’t want to sit in the pink booster seat with cupcakes on it. The seat belongs to my friend’s daughter, the same one I’m picking up from school. His was in the third row seat of my car and I didn’t want him riding back there on the interstate. He threw a big fit and kept on and on. We are trying very hard to stick to the no spanking, but clearly taking things away from K2 is not working. We are going to have to come up with a new plan. That bums me out. I will probably write a post about it when we figure it out.

*I downloaded a free book to my Kindle. I didn’t know it was a christian fiction book. I didn’t even know such a thing existed. The story is good but all the God talk is getting annoying. I’m almost done with it.

*The AH is watching Hardcore Pawn and I seriously want to slap the gal named Ashley on there. She and Kate Gosslin would probably get a long, or kill each other. Annoying is what she is!

*Sorry I don’t have more interesting things to say, but I’ve been busy and not had much time for the internet or blogging.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bits and Pieces

  1. Lac says:

    If it makes you feel any better, my 3yr old had a #1 AND #2 accident on the first day of preschool…sigh…parenting is hard. Not much advice on the meltdown issue…I try to ignore it and then talk about it when they are calm. Perhaps you can discuss how driving on the interstate is dangerous and he needs to be in the 2nd row…using a “consequence” approach from some of the positive discipline books I’ve read. Is there an exhibit at a museum on seat belt use or crashes…or a video? My DD went through a stage of meltdowns in which she would unbuckle her carseat such that i had to sit in the car forever. I took away privileges, etc, but she wouldnt buckle. I mentioned I was going to buy a “lock” for the strap…still no luck. Charging her for gas money for the car idling worked for a while, then one day, after 30 min of whining, I just started driving slowly out of the parking lot (she knows it is dangerous not to be in the carseat)…and that worked for good.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Parenting really is hard sometimes. I hate when an issue comes up that you aren’t sure how to handle. Thanks for the suggestions though. We tried the wait it out and the ignoring and talking about it later, but neither one worked at least for those few instances when K2 had the same kind of meltdowns.

  2. Lac says:

    P.s. natures miracle for the couch cushion? It works great for our potty accidents!

  3. Sara says:

    Just out of curiosity, what’s the book?

    Sounds like a crazy few days :-/

  4. Holly says:

    I swear I bought leather couches simply because they are easier to clean. Best of luck with getting it all cleared up.

    And as for the discipline issue, we have the same problem over here with twin 2. He simply does not respond to the strategies that typically work for most 3-4 year-olds. Different kids need different things. We’ve had to try several techniques with him. We really have to vary our strategies pretty frequently for anything to be effective. It makes me crazy.

Leave a Reply

