Overpronation & New Shoes

I tried jogging again the other day. It started out as just a walk with the family at the track. I felt like jogging so I did, but I asked the AH to see if my left leg turned out or in or something other than what my right leg was doing. I thought it might be turning in or what I’ve learned is overpronation. After reading up on it a bit it really sounds like the pain that I was experiencing was from that. At the end of my walk/jog I felt a bit of the pain that I had previously felt.

I invested in some ASICS which are supposed to help support my ankles, but I’ve yet to jog in them. I have walked in them and I can tell a difference in my knees and heels already. I also bought a new yoga dvd because the Wii version is beginning to bore me.

So I’m kind of looking forward to trying to jog again. The weather is finally cooling off which will make it a lot nicer to try to not die while I attempt to jog. Of course I’ll keep you updated on that.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Couch to 5K, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Overpronation & New Shoes

  1. Heather says:

    I jogged this summer and ended up hurting my hip and my ankle. (I sound old)

    Maybe this might be my problem as well. Or maybe i just suck at jogging. =)

    • theagnosticswife says:

      You know this is probably my last attempt. If the expensive shoes don’t work, I’m probably done with the jogging. I guess I’ll just continue to do the stationary bike and yoga and maybe walking.

      I do feel old sometimes, good grief a set of stairs can cause my knees to hurt for days and if I sleep wrong I’m ailing all day.

  2. Sara says:

    I walked pigeon-toed (and occasionally still do) as a kid and definitely still walk on the outside edges of my feet. All this to say…………… I love my Asics. Love them. The sneakers I had before them were full of cushions and whatnot to try to make them comfortable on my feet. No need for those shenanigans in my asics. I hope they work out for you.

Leave a Reply

