Leaving A Legacy

K1 and K2 just love to hear stories about all the things their daddy destroyed while trying to find out how it worked, about his adventures walking along the North Carolina shore looking for treasures and his mishap with a train that about ripped his butt cheeks in half. They giggle with each story and ask over and over to “tell it again daddy!” They even have their nana(the AH’s mom) telling them stories of him trying to dig to China and ending up breaking a water line in the process, or how he blew out everyone’s cable while trying to make a TV into a oscilloscope.

The list of silly and sometimes down right dangerous stuff that he did is long, but loved dearly by the boys. So after hearing several of these stories again this past weekend, I suggested that he might want to write them down, so they can be remembered by the boys who can then tell them to their children one day. It was then the AH revealed that he has been doing something kind of like that and has been working on it here and there for months. He wasn’t going to say anything until his was farther along with it.

He then proceeds to pull up a word document that first explains why he is writing what he is and then begins with his birth and in the document is a picture of the hospital he was born in. It goes on and on though the early parts of his life with picture after picture of the houses he lived in, the shore line he explored, the jobs he has had, and eventually it will be brought up to present day and added to as the years progress.

I asked why’d you do this? It’s wonderful, but what made you think to do this and to keep is to yourself for so long? He explained that he father has left him nothing. No good advice, no really good memories, no information about his family line, he didn’t want to leave the same legacy for his kids. He wants them to know who he is, what he loves and most importantly how important they are to him. It was at this point that I began to tear up. What an awesome thing to create for your children and for your grandchildren.  It was then that I was snapped out of the day-to-day things. The mundane feeling you get from doing the same thing all day everyday.

It reminded me that this is what we have. We have right now and life is not that bad, at least mine isn’t, and then it reminded me of all those who do not have a father who can or will or would leave them with catchy phrases (even though mom does not approve of some of them) who would tell them of their adventures and even of some of the most unpleasant memories that make him what he is today. I sometimes forget to live in the here and now. I’m stressed at times for no reason really. The laundry will be there, the dishes will get done, my boys will be five only once.

I realized that the AH not only realizes this, but lives it. Of course living it can drive me batty at times when my type A kicks in, but he lives in the moment, with those two boys.

What more could I ask for?

Have you had any reminders to live in the here and now lately?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leaving A Legacy

  1. Leaving a legacy of thoughts and feelings in writing is a large part of my intent in writing my Credo articles in my own blog about my life. I get my family to read it by writing it rather slowly (one page every 1 or two weeks) and by including family photos taken through my life. My kids probably will not want to follow me, but they will not be able to say that they do not know the tough journey I have gone through — particularly in (the LDS) religion.
    http://www.skepticalthayne.com
    Thayne Andersen

  2. Sara says:

    Thanks for sharing that, what a great story.

Leave a Reply

