The Asinine Story of Curious George

My kids got the customary scholastic book order forms from school about a week ago. I bought a set of 10 books for 15 dollars and one of those books was a Curious George book. While I was reading it to the boys several things struck me. First, the man in the yellow hat went to Africa and took George telling him he was taking him to a zoo and that it would be a happy place for him to live! That’s NOT how it happens in the movie, of course I’ve only read one other Curious George book and it didn’t say how he came to be with the man in the yellow hat. So, I kind of thought that part was not fun. Then George tries to use the telephone but ends up calling the fire station by accident. The firemen become angry with George when they find out there is no fire and chase him until they catch him and then put him in prison! George is scared and manages to escape by walking on the telephone wires.

I’m still thinking “they put him in prison for calling the firemen” when one of the boys asks “why’s there a cat on the roof?” That’s when I saw it. Do you see it? Here let me show you.

Hello! Wow! The cat has no whiskers and maybe not even a nose, but I guess the illustrator decided it was best that it was known that this was the back of the cat and not the front, least we get confused. The boys haven’t noticed, yet. However, they are all about poop and butts and all that goes with them so it’s probably not long until they do.

I of course laughed to myself and then promptly showed the AH when he got home. Maybe living with all boys has rubbed off on me? Nah, who am I kidding? I’ve always laughed at stuff like that. 🙂

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Now That's Funny, Parenting, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Asinine Story of Curious George

  1. Michael Mock says:

    There is a story (apparently apocryphal) that the shape of the question mark (?) was originally derived from the way a cat will crook its tail when it’s curious about something. That would make the hook the tail, and the dot below it would be… well…

    Anyway, I hope I haven’t rendered you incapable of looking at a question mark ever again. I haven’t, have I? Have I???

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Actually it will be awhile before I can look at the question mark (?) again and not think of cat butts. You can thank yourself for that!

  2. Alise says:

    Bwahahaha! That is spectacular!

    Hope all is well with you – sorry I haven’t been by recently. Trying to catch up, but had to comment on this gem!

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Hi Alise! Nice to hear from you! I completely understand. I’ve been behind or my reading as well. With school starting I’ve become much busier. I’ve not made it to all my favorite read in quite a while.

      I thought the whole cat hind end thing was funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

