Limited Access

I’ve been trying to stay off the internet until the boys go to bed. About every 6 months or so I begin to think that I spend too much time surfing the web and less time doing things that I should be doing, like staying caught up with the laundry and spending time playing with the boys instead of just sitting in the same room as them.

By doing this two things always happen. My boys, no matter how much I love them or how sweet they are, begin to wear me the heck out with their constant climbing on me and asking 700 questions of which 600 of them I can’t answer without looking it up on the internet. Secondly, I get behind on those blogs I do like to read and behind on posting on my own. A thought will come to me and I think “Oh I should write a post about that” but then I forget what it was later. So, the laundry is staying pretty much caught up and I’ve cleaned both the boy’s room throughly and sacked up three bags of toys they never play with to be donated. In doing that the house has stayed cleaner because there are not so many toys that are thrown around that are never played with and have to be put up at night.

That’s been nice as clean up before bed it much easier now. Sometimes it’s a challenge to balance out those things that you would rather be doing with those things that need to be done. Sometimes I don’t want to do anything but things I want to do. That’s never going to happen anytime soon and then when it does, I know I will miss the 700 questions and the fact that they still want to even be in the same room as me.

I don’t really ever want that day to come, except I’d be lying if I said I’ve not dreamt(dreamed?) of it now and then.

Ok, so this post went from me limiting my time on the internet to parenting. How did that happen? Not sure, but that’s what you got this time. I just write what flows from my mind.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Parenting, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Limited Access

  1. Michael Mock says:

    We’re right there with you, except throw in a bit of illness and instead of laundry, all I want to do is play a video game; while the Beautiful Wife just wants to watch Numbers or The Closer or something like that.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Oh I would much rather watch tv than do laundry! Sometimes I just wanna do what I wanna do. You know be totally selfish 🙂 Alas I can’t as that’s nit usually the way parenting works. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who feels this way sometimes.

  2. Jenny says:

    Years ago when I had a husband and a house full of kids and no time to myself, I made up a fantasy schedule:
    Week one: Everyone lives at home.
    Week two: My husband lives someplace else ( I never exactly figured this part out!) and the kids and I are in the house.
    Week three: The kids go someplace else and my husband is with me in the house.
    Week four: Just me! All alone!
    Well, that was my dream schedule. Never actually got it to work. Now it’s just my husband in the house with me, and I think I’ll let him stay. And the kids can visit anytime!

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Ha, what a schedule! I know at some point it will just be my husband and I and we will remember these days fondly.

  3. Holly says:

    Ooo, I think I like Jenny’s schedule! LOL

Leave a Reply

