Who Do You Tip?

Do you tip the person who helps you take your groceries out to your car?

I usually take my own cart to the car and unload them, but today I had two carts, though I’ve taken two out by myself before, but the guy who sacked them was an older man and he evidently needed a break. He quickly grabbed a cart and started pushing it out the door. He then yelled that someone else would need to sack because he was helping someone.

I did tip him. I usually do tip if I have cash. However, most of the time I take my own stuff out. That leads me to ask. Do you tip the carhop at Sonic? Sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t. Most people work hard for their money and I’ve worked in the food industry I know how sucky and hard it can be at times. I appreciate their hard work.

So, who do you tip?

P.S. I always tip my waiter or waitress.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Do You Tip?

  1. Sara says:

    Hmm… I don’t know if I would have thought to tip the grocery man so I’m glad you mentioned it. Now I’ll think to do so if I ever have a “helping hand” as they call it at Wegmans.
    I usually just tip people in food service and when I lived in a L.A. a lot of places had valet only so I would tip those dudes. I worked in food service for years and depended on my tips so I try to remember that when I’m out.

  2. Michael Mock says:

    My default setting is “tip unless there’s a good reason to think you shouldn’t” – but that’s generally food service people (including the carhops at Sonic). The grocery guy… yes, I’d say a tip is appropriate, if I needed and/or wanted the help.

Leave a Reply

