Slinky

The cat I mentioned before, Slinky, he died on the vet table on Saturday night. I mentioned he appeared to get better, so when the boys and I spent the day with my dad on Saturday I didn’t worry too much about him, but when I got home he looked bad again and he hadn’t moved. I offered him some water he didn’t want it and when he got up to walk away from it he was stumbling and fell over and had very labored breathing. I saw the look in his eye and I knew he was on his way out.

It took me 30 minutes to find a vet in our area that would meet me at the office instead of send me to the animal emergency clinic an hour away. I finally found one and he agreed to met me at his office to put Slinky to sleep. Though I hated to do it, I knew he was very ill and it was only a matter of time before he died. I just didn’t want him to suffer. After all that he died on the exam room table right as the doctor was coming in the back door. The ride to the vet had upset him caused his labored breathing to be worse and within minuets after we arrived he had passed out from oxygen deprivation. I patted his head as he drew his last breath. Though this may sound weird I sure am glad that I worked at a vet clinic  and I’ve seen that kind of death before. Had I not it would have been very, very upsetting.  Don’t get me wrong it was and upsetting experience, but I knew what to expect so there were no surprises in that aspect.

Slinky was a loner cat and mostly, only sometimes, paid attention to the AH and K2. Though I loved him, he was not my cat per si. The vet said he was very anemic, which I had notice myself and said as much to the vet a week before. It could have been anemia that killed him or one of the feline diseases that ultimately made him anemic. Though he was tested for them before I adopted him, but I had allowed his vaccines to lapse for a time and he fought a lot with a neighborhood cat.

K2 was the most upset. He cried a bit Saturday night, but by Sunday he was better and he hasn’t even mentioned him in the past couple of days.  So what remains are two cats, two dogs, a beta fish, and a hamster. Needless to say we are not done with pet deaths around here. Add to that most of the others are up there in age and it’s bound to happen again and sooner than later.

So that’s that.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slinky

  1. Heather says:

    Sorry about the kitty cat. Loosing an animal is never easy. =(

  2. Michael Mock says:

    Very sorry to hear that. I’m glad the kids seem to be coping reasonably well.

  3. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Farewell Slinky. Hugs for Slinky’s family.

Leave a Reply

