Go Green

Someone, I’m not sure who, but I assume it was someone in my family as it was done  through my personal account, signed me up to receive emails from Christian Response Alerts. That was in November, before all the brouha that happened in December. I should have unsubscribed, but didn’t as I was only getting an email every now and then and some where mildly entertaining. However that has changed. I’ve begun getting, sometimes, two emails a day and the content is full of things that I find either silly or offensive. Sometimes they contain things that make me out right mad. Yet, I’ve not unsubscribed. I hold on to some of them thinking I will write a post about it.

The latest one to irritate me was about the EPA & Hollywood and how they were using the Lorax from Dr. Seuss to teach children about living greener. The short article can be found here.

Since I’ve deconverted I’ve realized some of the benefits of trying to live greener. Trying to take care of our planet so that there will be some sort of planet worth living on for future generations. I didn’t see the point of this when I was a Christian. As far as I was concerned I wasn’t going to be here to see what happened and quite frankly I didn’t think it was my problem. God or someone else would deal with it. However, that’s not true. At least as I see it. I won’t pretend to know about some of the bigger issues such as EPA standards and such because I’m still learning myself how to live greener, but at least I’m trying. I know I used to carelessly throw away any and everything, never thinking to recycle it. I didn’t care about the air or water quality. I was selfish in that respect. I should have wanted better for not only myself but for my children and future generations. Heck I should have wanted better because that’s the right thing to do. To take care of what you have, to treat it with respect. To respect what it provides for you.

Maybe I’m not understanding something, there is a lot I have to learn, but I don’t think the EPA is out to get or control the republicans, whom mostly seem to be evangelical Christians. I think they are out to protect our air our water and our land. Things that most Christians, seem to disregard.

I’ll end with a funny little story. Last summer we had people over for the 4th of July. When I asked one of my family members to please put his bottle in the recycle bin he laughed and said “oh you’re one of those people now!” I was annoyed. I didn’t realize by asking him to place a plastic bottle in a recycle container that I had become someone new, maybe a weirdo? I replied that if he meant I was now one of those people who cared about the environment, then yes, yes I was one of those people. He responded with “I never would have imagined it.”

So I supposed now I fall into not only the atheist category, but also the weirdo category for wanting to take care of the earth. Here, where I live, surrounded by those that I love, that is defiantly the minority. A state that is filled with gas guzzling vehicles and right-wing Christians. I am most defiantly the minority.

Now for a confession. I am a driver of one of those gas guzzling vehicles. I bought it before I cared about the planet and when I was pregnant and thought our family would be growing. In trying to reach our goal of being debt free it’s not in the cards for us to get rid of it at the moment. I love my Explorer, but I do feel some guilt at times driving that beast around. I guess at least I load it with cardboard, paper and magazines that I am taking to the recycle centers around my town.

I’m still learning how to live greener, in doing so I have to be careful not to be obsessive about it. I do what I can now, or what I know to do. I try to buy greener products, not only for the environment, but for us as well. K2 had terrible eczema as a toddler and K1 has asthma, when I began to use products that where greener, K2’s eczema went away and K1 has not had issues with his asthma in a long time. Is using greener products the result of this? I have no clue, it’s quite possible that they just have outgrown the more severe versions of their issues. Do I feel better using more green products? Absolutely.  I do what I feel is best for my family and the best I can and know how to do for the environment now. I have a long way to go, but I’m trying.

So what are your thoughts on going green? Do you try to use products that are supposed to be green? How do you feel about the EPA? Is it something you even think about? Let me know in the comments.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Agnostic, Atheist, Christian, Environment, Outing Oneself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Go Green

  1. Eldon says:

    I would’ve told him to get the eff out of my house, but that’s just me.

    I say yay for you. It’s our responsibility to keep this planet clean. They have no idea what they’re doing for future generations. And if they’re waiting for effing Jesus to save the world, they’re sadly mistaken. I say just do your part and know that you care. The only person you can control is yourself.

  2. Holly says:

    I agree with you here. I try to make environmentally friendly choices as much as it is practical for my family. I keep learning and trying to improve my practices, but I know every little bit counts.

  3. dam says:

    It’s just narcissism. Many Chrisitans are so focused on the self and on being “saved.” The bible also encourages this mindset with stories about a world that was created just for man. Man as king, as ruler. If the bible had accurately portrayed humans as only one part of an egosystem with the responsibility to care for it, perhaps things would be much different. :\

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Yes imagine everyone taking care of the earth, not taking too much and being responsible and giving back when they can. Reminds me of a book I read not too long ago, I did a review on it, The Way by Kristen Wolf, mother nature how to properly care for her played a big part in that book. I’m just trying to do my part and have become more frustrated with those who refuse and with those who don’t see the importance at all.

Leave a Reply

