Waiting for the End

We are having some very sad days here this past week and it is continuing and we don’t know when it will end. The AH’s dad, who is up on in years, was diagnosed with untreatable lung cancer Monday. The family was told that he is dying. He’s been in the hospital since then and basically the family is having to watch him struggle to breath and starve because, there is really nothing the doctors can do but try to keep him comfortable.

As you can imagine this has been all kinds of unpleasant. We are trying to prepare our children for his death and being that it’s the AH’s dad it has been really hard for him to watch this going on. I won’t get into details but dying is not a pretty thing.

So I’m doing the best I can to support the AH in any way I can as well as the rest of the family. I know that one day it will be me enduring the heartache of a parents death.

So if I don’t post for a while that’s why.

The picture of the sign reminds me of one of the AH’s favorite bands. The Doors.

Death leaves a heartache no one can heal, love leaves a memory no one can steal.  ~From a headstone in Ireland

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Waiting for the End

  1. Lee says:

    I know what you are refering to, and it is very, very hard on the family. I will hold your family in my heart as you go through this.

  2. Michael Mock says:

    I don’t think that anything I say can really offer comfort, but we’ll be thinking of you.

  3. D'Ma says:

    {{{{TAW&Family}}}} Sending warm thoughts your way.

  4. limey says:

    Watching a parent die of cancer is a terrible thing to endure.

    Wishing you every sort of comfort.

  5. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Warm thoughts, gentle hugs. 😦

  6. Heather says:

    I’m so sorry. Hugs going your way….

Leave a Reply

