Where Did So and So Come From?

While reading Nate at Finding Truth today, I came across this post, where one of Nate’s readers asked him to ask one of his children a few questions about where some things came from. I thought it an interesting idea and decided to ask my two kids who are both 5 some questions.

We don’t discuss religion with them unless they specifically ask a question, which they have done before. However, they ask questions about all kinds of things all the time. Sometimes I have to go look the answer up and sometimes I ask the AH and he knows, but their thirst for knowledge of how things work and how they came about is growing daily.

So here’s what I asked and how they answered.

Me: “Where do trees come from?”

K2: He answered first and said “They come from seeds or acorns that birds drop.”

K1: “Hey I was going to say that!”

Me: “Where did the sun come from?”

K2: Answered first again. “The sun comes from meteors a long, long time ago.”

K1: “Meteors lighted the sun.”

Me: “Where do birds come from?”

K2 & K1 at the some time: “Eggs!”

I believe that the person who had originally asked Nate @ Finding Truth to ask his 3 year old child questions similar to these, was truly and fully believing that the child would say God, even though the child had never been told of God before. Nate’s child answered in about the same manner mine did. With no mention of a god.

Had my children gone to church longer than they did(we stopped when they were about two) or had I asked them these questions before, their answers might have been different.

Did K1 and K2’s answers surprise you? They didn’t me.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Atheist, Children, Interesting, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where Did So and So Come From?

  1. ... Zoe ~ says:

    I read that at Nate’s blog as well. I wondered what the Christian would say in response to this outcome. Here’s what I imagine might be said: ‘Well, see, that’s what happens when you take prayer out of the schools. No one knows who God is anymore.’ Another Christian might respond: ‘It’s a sign of the end-times.’

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Yes, to the Christian the answers given by the children would be sad answers and the parents would be viewed more than likely as lost and possibly not good parents.

  2. Michael Mock says:

    I’ve got the opposite issue. Firstborn has now taken to blaming God… for everything.

    He didn’t throw his shoes while he was having a temper tantrum in his room; God made them fly up.

    His trio spaceship didn’t fall apart because the pieces were poorly connected; God made it break. (This led to a good ten minutes of Firstborn stomping around his room, demanding to know why God did that. And he wasn’t asking us, either. He went straight to the source. He was even more annoyed when the Almighty didn’t drop by to explain Himself.)

    I really don’t know what to say this. On the one hand, it’s a logical extension of the idea that God can do anything, and is in charge of everything – which, to me, is hilarious precisely because it makes complete sense. And some of it is clearly a way of displacing the blame when he does something wrong, which I absolutely do not want to encourage. On the other hand, I’m not quite ready to tell him that I don’t think that God is anything more than a story.

    • theagnosticswife says:

      That certainly is interesting, blaming God for everything. Around here it’s usually either brother did it or made me do it and even on occasion they will say that it is mine or their dad’s fault that they did something.

      It does show he has a vivid imagination though. 🙂 Kind of like the time K2 said he wasn’t the one that did something it was a robot that looked like him, that his dad made.

  3. limey says:

    Interesting set of questions, I shall try them on my little one at the weekend, if I remember. She is a little older and still attend church and I am not especially expecting the answer God. Personally I find the answer of God to be unsatisfactory as it misses out so much on the wonder of nature. Why accept God as the answer when the mechanics of nature are so wonderfully complex and worth exploring?

    Oh and thanks for the heads up on a good blog to follow as well. Though I now have so many that I follow I have trouble keeping up with them, let alone my own blogging. *sigh*

    • theagnosticswife says:

      Those who accept God as the answer are not interested in searching for another answer, in my opinion, because they are afraid of what they may find. Also it’s a good story to say God did it and an easy answer.

      I’ve got too many blogs to read as well and rarely get to them all in the same week, much less keep up with my blog, which you can tell due to the lack of posts. Tis busy around here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

