A Different Kind of Interview with Anne Rice

I have one person in my area on my Facebook that is an atheist. He posted an interview that Anne Rice did today.

I admit that I’ve always had Rice’s book The Vampire Chronicles on my list of books I would like to read, but have not done so yet. I’ll probably start those soon.

As some may know Mrs. Rice was once a professed atheist, who returned to her Roman Catholic beliefs in 1998. In July 2010 she denounced her Christian faith on her Facebook page.

“For those who care, and I understand if you don’t: Today I quit being a Christian. I’m out. I remain committed to Christ as always but not to being “Christian” or to being part of Christianity. It’s simply impossible for me to “belong” to this quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group. For ten years, I’ve tried. I’ve failed. I’m an outsider. My conscience will allow nothing else.”

Since then she has advocated for those things she is most passionate about, supporting gay marriage and women rights to abortion and birth control are just a few. Evidently she’s very active on her Facebook page which in return has led to her being attacked by those who feel she is attacking their faith. She agreed to do an interview to answer questions about religion and why she feels the way she does.

I thought it was a pretty good interview and she said pretty much what most of us have said or would like to say regarding those who call themselves Christians.

“Many people have from time to time been offended by posts by me and by others on the Page. But by far, those who most complain of being offended are Christians. This is really unfair. Christians are active all over America today seeking to influence elections and legislation, to influence laws pertaining to women’s rights, the treatment of children and the rights of gays, the way science is taught in our public schools. They have billions in tax exemptions. Their charities receive millions if not billions in federal funds. There is no reason in the world why they should be exempt from criticism. No other group in America is exempt from criticism. And most of the time when Christians come to my page to say they are offended, they are there to criticize. They criticize me, my beliefs, my words, my thoughts, and they ruthlessly criticize the people of the page. They use words like hate and poison and darkness as they attack me and the other posters. They accuse; they lay blame. They attack. Yet they’re offended that we criticized them! This is unfair. You cannot come to some one’s page and attack that person and claim that you yourself ought to be exempt from criticism. One has to ask what is going on in the minds of these people? Well, this is what I think is going on: they see themselves as exceptional. They don’t feel that they ought to be subjected to critical discussion because their beliefs are “sacred.” They have God on their side. They feel they should be “respected” even when their bishops cover up abuse by their priests, even when they spend millions seeking to influence the laws by which we live, and the communities. They are quite outspoken and pugnacious about their beliefs, volunteering their judgement that homosexuality is an abomination, and that pro-choice women are sluts and baby killers. Yet they don’t want to be criticized. They think they’re special and they wonder apparently why we don’t’ know it. A California archbishop pays out $660 million to settle claims of child abuse, and then these Christians are furious when I comment on clergy abuse and the cover up. Well, we don’t agree that Christians are special and we don’t agree that they have God on their side. And we don’t agree that their views are “sacred.” In my mind Christians do not get a pass to abuse children, to denigrate women, to insult and persecute gays, and to spend their tax exempt millions to try to dominate our communities with their Christianity “morality — without being criticized. They have to withstand scrutiny for their public policies like any other group. And we especially don’t agree that they should be free to influence our laws and our communities without some public discussion of their involvement in these things. We feel that if they are going to play a highly visible and active role in American life —- and on our page — they should be open to free discussion of who they are and what they believe, and why they do the things they do. That seems reasonable and fair.”

You can find the full interview at Examiner.com or click the links bellow to be taken to part 1, 2 and 3.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

What did you think? Are you a fan of Anne Rice? Do you have a favorite book of hers?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Atheist, Christian, God, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Different Kind of Interview with Anne Rice

  1. sara says:

    She’s such a fascinating, well-spoken woman. When she released her initial statement, breaking away from organized religion I felt like she’d found the perfect words for my feelings. This interview is fascinating, thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

