Why I Write

Why do I blog? I’ve asked myself this several times over the past several years. It’s time-consuming, and sometimes it causes stress.

I’ve thought about stopping, I will go a week or two without writing. Sometimes this is because I’m just too busy around the house, being a mom and wife and care taker to a million little animals that we have acquired. Sometimes, it’s because I need to unplug. I need to stay present in the here and now and not in the world that is my computer. I always end up missing it though, that connection I have to those out in this world that seem to like me for who I am or at least who they think I am.  I’ve been very honest in this blog. I’ve not sugar-coated anything and I’ve pretty much told you everything. Why do I do that? Each and every time I’ve asked myself this(and it’s often sometimes) I go back to the same answer. I do it for two reasons, the first being that if I can help someone, or make someone not feel quite as alone as I know I have, if I can make them laugh on a bad day or make them stop and think, then I’ve done what I wanted to do. So on those times that I have thought I would just stop, someone sends me an email or a comment and tells me thank you. Thank you for making me feel not alone, thank you for preparing me for what could happen if they tell their family of their lack of beliefs. Thank you for touching them with my words. It is then that I realize I don’t want to stop. I’ve done what I set out to do and as long as that continues to happen I will continue to blog.

The second reason that I have continued is that it’s helpful to me too. It helps me get my thoughts and feelings out on screen and sometimes, after I write them, I can let the issue go and sometimes I can’t and I revisit those posts to see what I’ve said or thought about the issue in the past. I enjoy the interaction that I have with my blog buddies, though recently, I’ve not had the time I once did to devote to reading and commenting on all my favorite blogs. It’s help me not feel as alone in my journey.

So, that’s why I write. I write with the hope that my words will touch someone and make them feel better somehow. I write because it makes me feel better. I assume this is why most of us write. As long as one or the other listed above keeps happening I will keep writing.

Thank you. Thank you for taking the time to email me or comment. I read each and everyone and through your words you have helped me. So for that I am grateful.

Why do you write? Does blogging make you feel better or is it a source of stress for you?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Interesting, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Write

  1. Sylvia says:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your life. I don’t often comment but I do love to read your blog.

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    I write because I’m alive. Often I’d rather I sat and painted or wrote songs and strummed a guitar, instead of write. I find blogging to be helpful and stressful.

Leave a Reply

