Contradictions

While at dinner the other night, our waitress had on a necklace that resembled a rosary with a little cross and Jesus hanging on the end of it, but she also had on a rainbow arm band and a rainbow ring. I am assuming that the rainbow bracelet and ring were her show of support for the LGBT community. Of course, I could be wrong, it has happened before, but that’s not the point. My point is I said to the AH well if she’s catholic who supports gays and lesbians then she’s a walking contradiction isn’t she? That got me to thinking, what things do I support or like that make me a contradiction as well.

I’m a little country, but a little rock in roll

I’m a bit of a hippy and a bit of a feminist

I hate my state and I love it.

I’m for womens right to abort, but I hate that it’s used at all.

I’m trying to go green, yet I love my huge gas guzzling suv and would love to have a huge gas guzzling four door ford truck.

I’m a southern girl, who sometimes dreams of living in a blue or more liberal state.

I’m an athiest in a state, full of christians.

I find nature and all it offers beautiful and sometimes it seems a bit spiritual to me. I’m not a big adventurer girl, but I love the idea of camping and white water raffting and hiking. I think I just like the air conditioner and good food too much.

I love animals, can’t stand the way they are treated and handled for our food, yet I love me a juicy steak.

I love technology, yet sometimes I think it might be nice to live as they did in the 1800’s

I love country music but find the lyrics stupid sometimes. A lot of times it reminds me of my parents divorce and puts me in a melancholy mood. I listen to pop a lot and I love me some Eminem and Pink. I find I appreciate those singers that write their own music from their life experiences. I feel they make better albums.

I hate that I worry to much what others may think of me and mine, yet when I’m able to no longer care as much as I did I feel guilty and somewhat lost.

I wish I was extroverted, but am an introvert most of the time. I seem to be able to speak to others freely while in a group once conversation gets started. Though I sometimes feel what I have to offer is sub par to others.

I want to travel America and Canada and see the sites, show my kids the beauty of the land, yet leaving home makes me nervous.

I love America, proud to be American but think we can learn from other countries and that they sometimes have things that work better, but being America, we don’t like others to tell us what to do or what might work better, so we fight some things and ways of doing stuff that might be better.

I’m all these things and more. I’m a confused jumbled walking contradiction. I love and I hate. I’m emotional on the inside but don’t show it on the outside. I am me. The only me I know how to be and sometimes it’s not enough and others it’s perfect. I try to find and keep the balance. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I don’t.

Are you a walking contradiction?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Random Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Contradictions

  1. D'Ma says:

    I’m definitely a walking contradiction. For example:

    Since leaving my faith there are things that shouldn’t bother me but do. When people use “GD” I still cringe as if God is somehow offended.

    Like you, I am for women’s rights to choose, am pro-choice, but I loathe the fact that anyone feels the need to use it.

    I don’t believe in God but sometimes feel a need to feed some sort of spirituality by going to church. Maybe that’s a self-loathing thing because for some reason attending usually makes me
    feel worse because I no longer believe.

    I want to be a little more adventurous, live a little, have a wild side, but I’m way too conservative to do it. The Tour Guide and I were just laughing last night about how my idea of living on the wild side was going out for dinner and eating something decadent instead of skinny food.

    Much like you I like the idea of roughing it; going camping, white water rafting, hiking, zip lining through the forest. When it comes right down to it my real idea of roughing it is a bad mattress at the Holiday Inn.

    I’m a social butterfly and an introvert all at the same time.

    I think we’re probably all a bunch of walking contradictions. Probably in a lot of ways we don’t even recognize.

    • I have dropped a GD and felt a bit guilty for it, like I needed to apologize. One of my sons said “oh my god, oh my god” and I actually told him that though it’s not a bad word it is a word that will offend people and that it’s probably best if we don’t say that one. I was trying to break the habit now before he starts school and before he’s old enough for people to really start lecturing him about using the word god. Was that the right thing to do? I don’t know, but it’s what I did.

      Also, roughing it on a bad mattress, made me laugh. I’ve done that and it was terrible. It was in Cancun Mexico and a very hard mattress, terrible pillows and an ice machine right outside our door, made me feel like I might get better sleep sleeping on the actual beach.

      I would like glamping though.

      http://goglamping.net/

  2. I don’t know if i’m a contradiction…..

    Cause I would still describe myself as conservative…I still am pro-life…I think.

  3. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Yes I am a contradiction but I find that it keeps me flexible. 🙂

  4. Lisa says:

    Being pro-choice is not the same as thinking abortion is nifty. Preventing abortion should be about preventing unwanted pregnancies. I am pointing out the obvious (not being condescending), but it seems as if people think there are people who think abortion is cool.

    I am an atheist from the north who has moved to the south. It is very, very, very weird. I get all excited about making a friend, and then all they do is go on, and on about Jesus. This week it has been lots of anti-gay stuff, which is completely foreign to me. I have always had gay friends.

    I am old, and not patient. I just wish people would be nice, kind, and caring, while allowing people to believe, or not believe. Most of all, I wish that everyone would use birth control, unless they wanted to get pregnant.

    • Lisa I agree and maybe I should have clarified it a bit more. You are right about people thinking if you are pro-choice then you must think abortion is A-OK. I am pro-choice and pro-life. People, don’t seem to understand how that can be, me being an atheist and all.

      In Oklahoma people got all worked up over the “Jesus Chicken”, heck for that matter people get worked up in Oklahoma about a lot of things that I find are silly. I’m you’re right it’s always go back to god or religion when you talk to someone in any state that considered to have more southern values.

Leave a Reply

