Trust Yourself

Not too long ago I had the privilege to read Mary Johnson’s book An Unquenchable Thirst: Following Mother Teresa in Search of Love, Service and an Authentic Life. I wrote my review here.

Mary Johnson

Today I found this interview with Ms. Johnson on Friendly Atheist’s site. It was interesting to hear some more of what Ms. Johnson had to say, but it was the last question that made me think.

What message would you like to send to anyone who is sitting in a Church pew right now but may not believe in Catholic doctrine?

Trust yourself. Find someone to talk to who will listen to your doubts with an open mind. Realize that those who pronounce on doctrine are human, just like you are. Find a community that will nourish you and in which you can be yourself without pretending, whether it’s at your gym or in a book group or an atheist or Humanist organization. Is remaining in the Church worth losing your soul?

Trust yourself. Two simple words, that for some reason, had a great impact on me today. I’ve had this fear that what I have to say and what I think is not quite as smart or as important as others. I have mourned the loss of like-mindedness that I used to have with the majority of my family. I’ve felt guilty and ashamed and afraid that my thoughts were not my own. I’ve often times tried to hide my views under the guise that I don’t want to upset anyone else, but truth be told I don’t want to deal with the upset that they may cause me. I know that I’ve thought this out for myself. This has been my journey. I just need to trust myself.

Trust yourself. That has been easier said than done for me.

As soon as you trust yourself, you will know how to live.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749 – 1832) 

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Agnostic, Atheist, Life, Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trust Yourself

  1. I just finished reading “An Unquenchable Thirst” after I read about it in one of your posts. It was a wonderful, eye-opening experience. Somehow, I expected her to show more anger and frustration at the religion that kept her “obedient” and under the thumb of her family’s religion. She has now become a new HERO on how to lead my own life in matters of obedience, poverty, chastity and all the other concepts of fundamentalist dogma.
    Thank you for leading me to this book.

    • Well, you are more than welcome Thayne. You’re right I’ve yet to see an interview with her showing any sort of anger at her previous religion or life and the opportunities that she might have missed.

      Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed the book!

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    My local Chapters Indigo has the book and I almost bought it and then thought differently. It was about timing. I’ve been reading a lot of books but I had two Catholic friends from the U.S. stay with us briefly recently. In an effort not to upset I left buying the book until after the visit. I so look forward to reading it. In an interesting turn of events, I removed all but one of my secular-type, former Christian-type booksk from my bookshelves in our one bedroom so as not to upset our night guests. I did however leave my Good Without God book. 🙂

    I so understand what you mean by trusting yourself.

Leave a Reply

