Unjust

I found this over at The Bittersweet End. It’s one of those video’s that’s made to move you, make you feel something. It shows how backwards and unjust Christian thinking can be.

Edited to add: As I was cleaning house I kept thinking about this. How unjust this message seems. I had forgotten, but I used to wonder why some of God’s rules and regulations seemed so unjust. I even remember asking people about this one. Why would he allow someone like that in heaven, but send the Jew to hell? Anyone I asked would say, well we don’t understand why God does some of the things he does, but it’s not for us to question, it’s in his hands. He knows what he’s doing though we might not understand. I got the same answer when I asked about why children suffer. I couldn’t come up with a better answer at the time either, so when I was asked these things, I gave the same answer. It’s in God’s hands.

At some point that answer became unacceptable to me. It is an unacceptable answer. One that is used because Christians don’t know the answer, yet they can’t fathom the idea that God would not have a reason for allowing something so unjust to happen. It takes it out of their hands, and minds for that matter, and puts it into a gods. It’s filed in the folder “to ask God” later, when they get to heaven, because they know they’re going. They will be standing at those pearly gates with that Christian serial killer someday and most seem to be ok with that.

 

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Agnostic, Atheist, Christian, God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unjust

  1. Max says:

    What a thought provoking video and post, thank you for making me engage my brain today.

  2. ... Zoe ~ says:

    When I saw this at MR’s blog I just didn’t know what to say. It’s overwhelming. As a Christian it bothered me too and like you when I asked I got the answers you got. I think maybe it’s easy to sort of compartmentalize stuff like this because the Bible is full of mayhem itself and Christians believe the Bible is God’s Word and His Word is truth. If God can wipe out nations then He certainly can save a serial killer and send a Jewish girl to hell. Doesn’t make sense. I suspect many people who are Christians think it doesn’t make sense either so they leave it in the hands of “faith.”

    • Jason Alan says:

      It’s a very barbaric and constrained way of thinking. Many people call themselves Christian without even thinking much about it, and others don’t read the bible, they just go to churches where the sermons leave out all the horrible parts. Some say they just follow the teachings of Jesus, but either gloss over or don’t even know the whole story. Like Matthew 10:24 – “Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.”

      Doesn’t sound very peaceful to me, but then the defenders will spin it, saying it doesn’t mean that literally. The translation made it seem that way, blah blah blah. Or they might say, well, which version of the bible are you talking about? There’s another problem. How many versions are there? If God wanted all people the opportunity to be ‘saved’, wouldn’t there be only one version, and at the very least an original version? There are no originals to be found, and there also should only be one religion, but there are many, and literally thousands of gods have been worshiped over the course of human history.

      It’s a massive waste of time. I suggest reading books about ethics if one wants to better learn how to treat others and yourself. The only people that should be called Christians are those who take the bible literally and justify all the slavery, misogyny, narcissism, incest, rape, genocide and other atrocities with useless phrases such as ‘it’s a matter of faith’ and ‘it’s in God’s hands’.

      Right is right and wrong is wrong, whether it’s a person doing it or a supernatural being. Period.

      Personally, I’m proud to be an atheist/agnostic, and that I don’t need some book written by semi-literate dirt farming goat herders that absolutely no idea of how the natural world really works. Proud and fascinated to learn more about how the cosmos works instead of worrying about why we’re here. Why we’re here is something to ponder sometimes, sure, but what’s really important is realizing we are all here together in the real world and are sharing the planet with people of many differences, and we should act accordingly.

      No matter what any of the exclusive religions say, we actually do know what happens when you die because of science. The cells in our body break down and become part of the earth where we came from, and some of the atoms from those cells go on to inhabit other living beings, helping to continue the circle of life. That is the awesome power of nature, that is true beauty which is all-inclusive, and there isn’t anything more profound than that.

      • Amen! The beauty of nature became even more apparent to me after my deconversion for the simple fact that I took a moment to actually see it instead of thinking that it was created.

        Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

