Wackado Politics

I’m not really into politics, but here lately some politicians have been saying some really crazy things. Scary things.

Maybe I didn’t notice it before, because I agreed with the majority in my state. Maybe I didn’t notice it because I didn’t care to. I don’t really know, but it seems to me that it has become all about religious beliefs. Good vs. Evil if you will.

Here are a list of just a few of the crazy things I’m aware of. I imagine there is a lot more, that I don’t know about.

Charlie Fuqua
source

First you have Charlie Fuqua(R) from Arkansas,who endorses the death penalty for rebellious children.

The death penalty for rebellious children is not something to be taken lightly. The guidelines for administering the death penalty to rebellious children are given in Deut 21:18-21:

Along with his endorsement of the death penalty for the rebellious child, he advocates that all Muslims be removed from the United States. He went on to say that it would take care of the “Muslim problem” in the U.S.

Mr. Fuqua even has the nerve to act surprised when others don’t agree. Going so far as to state.

“I think my views are fairly well-accepted by most people,”

Jon Hubbard
source

Then we have Jon Hubbard(R), from Arkansas. Mr. Hubbard has written a new book in which he claims that slavery “may have actually been a blessing in disguise” and that immigration both legal and illegal, “will lead to planned wars or extermination.”

Loy Mauch
source

Hubbard has a supporter though! Loy Mauch(R), Arkansas, has this to say about slavery.

If slavery were so God-awful, why didn’t Jesus or Paul condemn it, why was it in the Constitution and why wasn’t there a war before 1861?

Arkansas people are you embarrassed? I think I would be.

Todd Akin
source

Todd Akin(R), Missouri, thinks women can not get pregnant through “legitimate rape.” I don’t even know what to say to that. Has he no clue how even the basic parts of the reproduction system works?

What is going on? This is not acceptable, not to me and it should not be acceptable to anyone else either. Women why would we want any kind of leader that would say only “legitimate rape” results in pregnancy? Rape is rape and trying to say otherwise is just,well, crazy to me. Saying to a whole group of people that their suffering was a “blessing in disguise” that it allowed them to have the freedoms they have today is dismissing what really happened or at the least minimizing it.

Like I said before I don’t follow politics closely, but how could I not notice just these few things that I have posted about. I cannot, in good conscience, vote for any party that believes such things.

It’s time to educate ourselves and stop dismissing others pain and suffering. Perhaps it’s time that I myself pay better attention.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Interesting, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wackado Politics

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    I live in NW Arkansas and have been shocked by the absurd positions of these kooks.

    • It is shocking to say the least. I live in Oklahoma and we have our kooks too.

      • artsifrtsy says:

        Here close to the border we get MO ads – Akin is a mess. What’s crazy is that after he said this crap he has stood by it. When I first heard it I thought he had just made a terrible mess of trying to make a point – no, he actually believes that mess.

      • I know! I don’t understand how someone could believe such a thing. Of course, I myself have believed some stuff that I find appalling now.

      • artsifrtsy says:

        I believe some things you might have formerly believed and these guys certainly don’t represent my point of view – I think they all have a stunning arrogance – totally clueless. BTW – thanks for the follow. My brother told me about your blog and I always enjoy reading your thoughtful point of view.

      • I didn’t mean to imply that everyone who believes in things I used to are wacky or appalling. I’m sorry if I did that! I certainly realize one can believe in something(deity?) and not support the crazy things these men have said. The do seem clueless.

        You are welcome for the follow! Your pictures are stunning! Not sure who your brother is, but tell him thanks for sending you my way. I’ve enjoyed our interaction.

      • artsifrtsy says:

        Oh no – I didn’t take it that way at all. I’m kind of between political parties right now and these guys don’t speak for where I was or where I’m going:) I’m not actually sure where I’m going to be honest.

        My brother writes the fruity chicken. He’s a deep thinker – he recommended a post to me a month or so ago. I’ve enjoyed our interaction too.

  2. Suzan says:

    Wow. Just wow.
    The death penalty for rebellious children? How can that even be serious? I am at a loss for words.
    I am an atheist homeschool mom here in TX so I try to keep my mouth shut about politics,(for the safety of myself and my children) but sometimes, I just can’t help myself.
    I’m going to stop myself before I start on a rant. I haven’t had coffee yet and things could get ugly. 😉

    • It’s absurd and a but shocking. Thanks for commenting.

      I tried to comment on your blog. The post about the lady stealing that really cute wreath. That was crazy! She just walked up there and took it! Anyway, either my iPhone or blogger wouldn’t let me comment. I tried several times.

  3. Max says:

    The sad thing is that all to often these people spring forth from the “moral majority” and exploit peoples faith to forward a wacko agenda. The left is full of the same crap in the form of over the top liberals that want to create a nanny state and control every aspect of our lives because we’re to stupid to manage our own affairs. Personally I choose to believe the majority in our country are moral and want to manage their own affairs responsibly but modern American society has so polarized the difference between the haves and the have nots that there is a need for a safety net on the lower end of the spectrum in the form of social programs to prevent a slide into third world conditions, and a safety valve for the top of the spectrum in the form of regulation to restrain the greed and corruption that can come with wealth and power.

  4. Lea says:

    And then there’s this guy: “Evolution, embryology and the Big Bang theory are major underpinnings of mainstream science. And Georgia Republican Rep. Paul Broun, a physician who sits on the House Science, Space and Technology Committee, says they are ‘lies straight from the pit of hell’.” From LA Times, Oct.7

    • Oh yes, he most defiantly should be listed. I do remember reading that he said that. How could I forget to add him?

      Scary. He has a whole slew of people that would agree with him. At least in my state.

Leave a Reply

