Elf on a Shelf-Day 1

I’m going to switch gears you guys. Instead of writing about all the depressing things I could write about, I’m going to share something fun. At least I think it’s fun. It’s something that is going to become a tradition and that can one day be passed down to my grandchildren if their parents decide to do so.

For two years now, around Christmas time, I’ve seen the Elf on the Shelf all over Pinterest and the internet. I resisted for those two years because I was cheap and wasn’t sure I wanted to make the commitment to be creative with Mr. Elf. I gave in this year and paid for the overpriced plush elf with a book.

I’ve found tons of ideas on Pinterest as to what to do with the elf. So, I plan to post the daily shenanigans of our elf, who was named Gumdrop Candy Cane.  I’m sorry if this a GIANT bore to some of you. I just thought this might be a nice break and give others who are playing the little elf game some ideas.

First I have to tell you K2 is not so sure he believes that Gumdrop has any sort of magic, or that Santa exists at all. He wants to believe, but he’s just not convinced. I’ve been there myself, wanting to believe something, but not seeing the evidence I needed to see to do so. So, I told him it’s ok to question. It’s ok to have a different opinion about it than his brother, who does believe, but has questions of his own. I told him that if in the end he decides he does not believe then that’s ok too, we can still play the game.

Last night was day 1 where when they woke up Gumdrop had moved from his position on the fireplace shelf.

Elfonshelfday2012TAW

Are you doing the Elf on a Shelf?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Children, Crafts, Elf on a Shelf, Holiday, I Found it on Pinterest, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elf on a Shelf-Day 1

  1. bumfuzzled says:

    I don’t have young children or grandchildren but this is definitely something I would have done when my son was small, if it had been around. Because the elf can have pretty much any personality you want, he can change throughout the years and grow with the family. At least that’s how I understand it. Sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

