Pondering Christmas

Grinch[1]I took the Christmas stuff down today. As I was taking the ornaments off the tree I was thinking about what I feel about Christmas now opposed to Christmas two or three years ago.

It used to be my favorite time of the year. As November neared I would feel excitement  knowing that soon Christmas music and decorations would fill my home. Knowing that I would soon be with my family laughing and having a grand ole time and though I felt a twinge of the excitement every now and then this season, it’s just not the same for me any longer.

It’s not different because I no longer celebrate with the birth of a savior in mind. To be honest that was never really a huge driver for me to celebrate previously. I mean I did acknowledge that fact that it was supposedly the day that Jesus was born on. And I found myself getting emotional and grateful about that aspect of it a time or two, but it was not all Jesus all the time. It’s different now because for two years in a row my favorite time of the year has been marred by things that have taken place around Christmas. Things that I have written about before, but don’t wish to dive into now. Though this year was not as dramatic as the last it was not without its drama.

I guess as of right now I no longer celebrate because I find it enjoyable, I celebrate for my children. The excitement they feel in the holiday. We did start a few new traditions around here, such as the elf on the shelf, and creating homemade ornaments for our tree. Speaking of traditions, and I don’t know if you would call this one, but I’ve decided that I don’t want a Christmas gift from the AH on Christmas any longer. I proposed that instead of buying each other gifts that we take that money that we would have spent on each other and give it to someone in need. That can be in any form we choose. We can choose a needy family or an organization. We can put our money together or we can separately choose what to do with the funds.

With my birthday being in October and the AH’s being September and our anniversary in December that’s just too much. In all honesty both the AH and I tend to buy the things we really want around our birthday time.  By the time Christmas rolls around we have no idea what to ask for and it becomes more of a stressor than anything. Though I like presents, I would much rather give my gift or the funds that bought them to someone who might get nothing for Christmas. I enjoy giving gifts. Christmas gifts to me are really for the children. I honestly do not feel the need for gifts. I might even ask the rest of those in my family who might buy for me to instead donate that money to someone or some organization in need.

So, I guess I do know what Christmas now means for me. It is about giving to those less fortunate. With all the hurt in the world, I do not need one more gadget or knick knack, I would gladly go without the next new thing if it meant that someone hungry could eat, or that someone who is without the proper clothing to be clothed and warm, or that some child may have a gift under their tree, or even a tree perhaps.

I do not just want to take up space. I want to help. I want to be an example for not only my children, but for those around me. I believe if we all strive to actually do this instead of just talking about it, we might be able to make a small dent in helping those who need help the most.

annefrank

Will you be giving up gifts this year to instead help those in need?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Family, Holiday, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pondering Christmas

  1. Thank you for this post! I am sure many non-believers are relieved to hear there are others out there who struggle with the holidays after becoming an agnostic / atheist. Thank you for encouraging everyone to give and be an example to their children and community!

  2. jinkies says:

    As an atheist, I still decorate for Christmas. When I was a Christian, I did all the Christmasy things that Christians do. Now, I look at it as a time to be thankful for what I have, spend time with family and friends, give gifts to show love and appreciation, and eat a little more.

Leave a Reply

