Runaway

Do you ever feel like you just want to run away? That was not a feeling I was too familiar with until a couple of years ago. I’m sure as a kid I wanted to run away sometimes when I didn’t get what I wanted or when I felt like my parents were being mean to me, but that was always short-lived.

In the past three years I’ve wanted to run away many times. I’ve wanted to pack my family up and move. Move to where I feel the most connected, move to where I feel grounded, move to the ocean, where the waves wash my worries away, if  just for a moment.  There is something about the ocean that calls me. It is my happy place. If anything comes anywhere close to being a spiritual experience for me it is the ocean. I am terrified of it, because of its ability to destroy, and I am in love with it because of its massive beauty.

DSC_0434TAW

The thought of moving somewhere new. Someplace that is not so conservative and right leaning, is tempting at times. However, we cannot go, and we stay for the same reason many people stay in a place they sometimes feel they don’t belong. We stay for our family. The very thing I’d sometimes like to run away from keeps me here. My need for a family connection, my need for my children to have that connection keeps me in the middle of the United States far away from any scary, beautiful ocean.

DSC_0176 (2)TAW

Where would I go? Well I I’m not a huge fan of cold. I can do a snow or two, but I can’t handle too much of it. I know I’d suffer from the winter blues. I love the Gulf of Mexico, the white sand and blue water, so lower Florida would be really nice. With that said, if there is an ocean near by I could probably handle anywhere.

Have you ever wanted to run away? What keeps you from doing it and where would you go?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, photography, Random Ramblings, Vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Runaway

  1. From Utah. Feeling very much the same! I’m thinking Oregon. 🙂

  2. jinkies says:

    I always want to move. When my husband and I were looking for a home, he wanted to stay in the same area to be close to his family. Three years later, they moved an hour and a half away and his sister moved three hours away. Then his parents divorced and his mom moved a 12 hour drive away. Needless to say, I feel resentful. I want to move to Denmark where half of my ancestry is from and it’s a very atheist friendly country.
    The one time I ran away, I was 7 and I ran away to the side yard. I couldn’t decide where to go so, I stayed there.
    I would love to go to the ocean right now, with a drink in my hand and the sand in my toes and the sun on my face. Sounds, peaceful.

  3. bumfuzzled says:

    I dream of running away to Key West. I’m pretty sure I can’t afford it because I look at the real estate listings on the Internet. I imagine having really cool neighbors, who are probably gay, hanging out by the water with a drink in my hand, attending jazz festivals and art festivals. Then the buzzer goes off on the dryer and brings me back to Texas.

  4. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Yes! And retirement made it so. We run away now for anywhere between 2-3 months for the winter. If you are thinking Florida, umm, not so left-leaning or liberal (from our experience.) We keep a low profile. 🙂 Right now Florida’s gulf coast is dealing with what is commonly known as a Red Tide. After doing some research I’ve learned the preferred term is harmful algal bloom. If you have breathing problems you don’t want to be on the beach. It kills marine life too.

    I wanted to run away my entire life. I suppose that maybe just maybe that feeling has only left this past year. I get it.

  5. Rebecca says:

    I felt like running away yesterday. I started new classes and was eager and excited!. The professor of my second class seemed so engaging and such a good story teller. I sat in my seat thinking, “I’m really going to like this class”. Almost time for class to be over and she brings up Jesus Christ.
    Now, I have no ill will towards any Christians or other religions for that matter. I just wish not to hear about it. And I definitely don’t think an institution of higher education is the place to preach. She kept the class ten minutes over talking about how Jesus Christ is real and she knows because she can feel him.
    I wanted to run away to a place where people think like I do. Does a place exist? I have no friends. I am 24 and the only people I can have meaningful conversations with are my mother and boyfriend. Will that ever change?

    • ... Zoe ~ says:

      I’m wondering if you are allowed to leave class when she brings up Jesus and goes over the scheduled class time Rebecca. Is that possible? Or would that be too obvious and put you at a disadvantage with the prof?

      What I have learned is that no matter where you go in life or where you end up, school, community, job, geographical location, you will encounter religion and belief anywhere you go. Is there a secular club in your school? There is a site called Friendly Atheist and you can find it in theagnosticwife’s blogroll in her sidebar. That site may be off some help for you in finding others to network with for meaningful conversations.

    • bumfuzzled says:

      Like Zoe, I too wonder if you could just leave, especially if class is technically “over.”

      Is this a college affiliated with a church, as so many are?

      If it were me and it happened again I would either talk to the counselor or even withdraw from this class and find another one. That’s really a bummer. It sounds like you were really looking forward to this class.

      I wish you all the best with this.

  6. Jessica Harrison says:

    We did run away! My husband was offered a job on the gulf coast of Florida. We packed up and left southeast Missouri in the dust.I had never seen the ocean before last year, now we live under 30 miles from the beach! one of the best parts is not having to see people who have been unpleasant about our choices. They can just sit up in Missouri and be mad. We’re down here enjoying life!

  7. Heather says:

    I would love to run somewhere warm and NO SNOW. Sometimes the irrational mindset of our local religion is so ridiculous that I feel like getting out of here asap…. but as my kids get older and our jobs require us to stay here, we will for now. But you better believe as soon as I can I’ll be outta here!

    Hope the winter blues leave ya soon. I get them pretty bad too. =(

  8. Pingback: Safe Haven | The Agnostic Wife

Leave a Reply

