Recent Reads

Here’s what I’ve been reading lately.

50reasons50 Reasons People Give for Believing in God by Guy P. Harrison was an easy, interesting read. Each reason for believing is listed as a chapter. The author then gives reasons why these are not good reasons or proof to believe something. At the end of the book is listed every source and the page that his information came from. It was very in-depth and provided several books that I might add to my reading list.

outlanderOutlander by Diana Gabaldon. Outlander is the first book in a 8 book series(possibly more). I like time travel books, so I enjoyed this one. Diana Gabaldon took fiction and mixed it with fact making me learn a bit about the Scottish Highlands. I was excited to learn all I could about Clair’s journey from 1945 Scotland  to the year 1742, when she traveled back in time, by accident, after she passed through a large crack in some rocks. The book takes you though Clair’s journey and how she comes to marry a Scotsman named Jamie Fraser. It’s a long book, but it was interesting enough I didn’t mind.

dragonflyDragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon is the second book in the Outlander series. Dragonfly in Amber picks up where Outlander left off. It too is a long book. While I enjoyed this book, I did find myself having to take breaks while reading this one. It just seemed to go on and on and is loaded with lots of information, so I felt we could have done without. We follow Jamie and Clair on many adventures as well as through some anger and heartache. This book ended on a sad note unlike the first one. I’m a book cheater and if it’s in a series I usually have to google the books and read a bit about them. Of course I find out spoilers this way and sometimes it makes me not want to continue one. That’s what has happened in this instance. While I am curious to find out what happens in the next book Voyager, it too is a long book and I found out some spoilers about some of my favorites in the series that I found a bit disappointing. A lot of people seem to love these books. I liked them, but did not love them. I will give it some time and when I’m ready for another long read with lots of information I’ll pick up the series again.

goodenough

Will I Ever Be Good Enough?: Healing the Daughters of Narcissistic Mothers by Karyl McBride. I’m currently reading this one. It’s written by a women’s psychology and health psychotherapist, who happens to have a narcissistic mother. I’m hoping this book will help me heal. It’s not a long read, but the author does want you to take several steps in healing that require a lot of writing. She warns that bringing up old memories will not be easy but must be done to move forward. I’ve honestly not wanted to dive into any memories where my mom is concerned recently, so I’ve just been reading through the book and then I will go back through and do the work. I’ll let you know how it goes when I’ve done this.

So, that’s what I’ve been reading over the past few months. How about you? Read anything good lately? I’ve not had a fantastic read in a long time. Got any suggestions?

I can’t get the second book to line up like I like it. It bugs the type A me, but I’m letting it go. You’ll have to let it go too. 🙂
About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Interesting, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Recent Reads

  1. jinkies says:

    I work in a book store and have been in the industry for 12 years and I LOVE books! I did read the Outlander and loved it. I started on the second, but I couldn’t get into it like I did the first. I have the rest of the series when I want to pick them up again though. I’ve not read the 50 Reasons, but it sounds like something that I would read. I have Will I Ever be Good Enough on my shelf to read, but I’m trying to will myself to read it.
    I just finished the second book from the series Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy called Restaurant at the End of the Universe and liked it a lot. I’m trying to read books that I feel like I should have read when I was younger. I’m taking a break though to read a bibliography of Madam Tussaud in honor of Women’s month. March is also “Read books that you’ve always meant to read, but haven’t”, or something to that effect.

  2. Lee says:

    I’ve read all the books in the Outlander series, plus all the Lord John Grey books as well. While I felt some parts were a bit of a slog, the magic does happen again and again throughout the series. I don’t think they would be good to read back to back, so take a break and no more peaking! She is the only historical fiction author that I read, as it is not a genre I generally like.

    My best friend started me in on Jonathan Tropper, who is hysterical and touching and sad all in one. Happily working my way through his oeuvre.

    Christopher Moore is another funny, irreverant author I thoroughly enjoy. Sometimes his characters carry over, but you can read in pretty much any order. I think of him as “Tom Robbins Lite”, but not to discount his talent in any way. TR is just very cerebral and CM is an easier read. But if you haven’t read Even Cowgirls Get the Blues yet, you may enjoy it in your post-religious state!

    Non-fiction-wise I am reading Fat Chance about how sugar is so bad for you. I read it every morning while drinking a half-liter Coke with my breakfast. (Though I don’t enjoy it nearly as much now that I know what it is doing to my body!)

    Audio-wise my kids and I are listening to the Ranger’s Apprentice series while driving to activities. Very enjoyable. All time favorite audio series include Phillip Pullman’s Dark Materials Trilogy, anything by Kenneth Oppel, Eowin(sic) Colfer, or Gary Paulsen.

    I could go on all day…

  3. I’ve recently read Bad Pharma by Ben Goldacre (a must for anyone interested in clinical trials and medical research) and The Geek Manifesto by Mark Henderson (possibly rather UK-centric, but an important and timely clarion call for science and reason to have a proper place in public discourse. I’ve got others on my shelf, looking balefully at me, and I do want to read Unapologetic by Francis Spufford.

  4. Michael Mock says:

    May I recommend a fantasy author? Try Martha Wells. I would recommend pretty much anything she’s written, and her older stuff is available for the Kindle at very reasonable prices. If you want a standalone (instead of a series), I’d try City of Bones – but like I said, all her stuff is good.

  5. Max says:

    I just finished “Pow” by Mo Yan. Why did I read it? I have no idea. I usually lean more towards historical fiction but over the years have found myself reading more character driven fantasy/heroic fantasy stuff like Joe Abercrombie’s “The Blade Itself”. Pow was a good book but one that was so different that it would be hard to recommend. By the way I love Diana Gabaldon but agree with others that her books need a couple of other novels in between to be fully appreciated.

  6. Wow guys! You have some really good suggestions. I’ve looked most of them up and will probably add some of them to my reading list. Thank you for sharing. I love to see what you guys are reading.

  7. limey says:

    I’ve been slowly working my way through the John Norman Gor scifi series. Its not exactly high brow but it works for me.

    On the serious side I’ve been lent Does God Believe in Atheists. To be blunt. Its awful. I feel i should commit to finishing it but if it doesn’t get better that won’t happen.

  8. Heather says:

    OH MY! I just read Outlander and Dragonfly! Well, half way through Dragonfly. Crazy. I had a customer tell me how much she loved the series. I loved the first one but am struggling through the second. Don’t know If I can read the third and so on. Right now I just started (page 28) “The Night Circus.” Its actually pretty darned good so far. I’m needy for new books to read. So THANK YOU for the run down!

Leave a Reply

