It’s Ok to Ask Questions

Sometimes I go days without thinking about how reveling my unbelief to my mom has ultimately cause a much bigger rift in our already cracked relationship, and sometimes I think about it for days.

It had been a few days since I thought about it, but with mother’s day coming up it has been on my mind. As I was driving to get the kids from school I realized something. A few people in my family must have not thought I was very smart. One of the first things and one of the things that I’m still told by a few is that I am just following what my husband does. That this is not of my own doing, I did not think this stuff up. While parts of that may be true, such as I don’t know if my questioning would have ever led me down this road because I didn’t know this road was an option, the end result is all mine.

I have to wonder if they just saw me as a non-questioning, conforming person? I admit though I had questions I was too afraid to find out the answers before. I was, for the most part, a non-questioning, conforming person.  I didn’t know that questioning one’s religion was an option and that it was ok to do so. I didn’t know that there might be another answer out there besides “just have faith.”

I’m glad I know now that asking questions is ok. We might not get the answer we are wanting, but it never hurts to ask. Right?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Atheist, Outing Oneself and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Ok to Ask Questions

  1. D'Ma says:

    They are afraid to ask themselves the questions you’ve asked yourself. It might lead them down the same path. And as for it being okay to ask the questions: If faith can’t stand up to the questions then maybe it should come tumbling down.

    I, for one, think I was more of a conformist as a Christian. I didn’t question. I just went along. And if I did have questions I just buried them because they were too uncomfortable. For me and everyone else. I think that I question more things now because I’ve become more skeptical. Not more cynical, more skeptical. I’ve learned not to just take people’s word for it. “It” being anything. Not just religion. It’s good to question things. If people didn’t question things how would we know about the theory of relativity or gravity or anything about medicine? We wouldn’t. We’d be stuck in the dark ages.

    • Hi D’ma! So glad to hear from you. I hope you and the tour guide are doing well.

      Yes! More skeptical than cynical about everything. However by being this way I see how gullible I was at one time.
      Also questioning makes people so uncomfortable as well as kindly pointing out to those who did not question or research(on FB) that they have some info wrong that belittles and singles out,in a negative light, a whole group of people.

  2. Jimmy says:

    Asking questions opened the door to freedom, freedom for us and freedom for our kids. We don’t have to be mired in the mess that is religion where you have to ignore the evidence right in front of your face to keep on believing that someone lives in the sky and is watching out for you even though there isn’t a single shred of evidence that it is so.

    My only regret is that I didn’t ask the questions a lot earlier in life. I regret the time I wasted believing in nonsense and deceiving myself…

  3. tlethbridge says:

    I guess I have not heard this because I am charting my own course in our family (and I am not out to my own parents). I have heard “Why don’t you just get right with God?” That one has so many presuppositions I did not know how to begin to answer.

    In my opinion, all you can do is tell the questioner that you are charting your own course and this is where it has led you. Please keep sharing, there is a great deal of your life that my wife and I share here.

  4. anothernone says:

    Your families argument is that you are following your husband’s lead? Isn’t anyone that believes in a religion following someone else’s lead? Like you said, he opened the door, but you are the one that came to your own conclusion.

    I am raising my kids to ask questions about everything. I want them to base their knowledge and beliefs on life, science, and religion on fact as much as possible. I think that the world would be a much better place if more people were comfortable with asking questions about everything, even if it makes them uncomfortable. That was one of the hardest lessons for me to learn when I was in the process of deconverting from Christianity.

Leave a Reply

