Atheism in the Media

Most of you have seen the clip of Wolf Blizer asking a woman who survived the Moore, Oklahoma tornado if she thanked the lord. She reveled that she was an atheist(hi fellow Oklahoman unbeliever, we are few and far between).

I kind of felt he forced her in to answering his question by asking it once and not allowing her answer of a quiet “yeah” to be enough. However, evidently Glenn Beck thought it was all a set up to get some sort of liberal, atheist agenda out to the public.

Then we have this lovely handout written by Minister David Brassfield of Newalla Church of Christ, a church in Oklahoma.

newallaletterI found this on the Friendly Atheist. You can go there to find out what secular and atheist groups have actually helped tornado victims.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Agnostic, Atheist, Christian, God, Interesting, Outing Oneself and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Atheism in the Media

  1. Howie says:

    I’m not sure what to say about this. I guess I shouldn’t be shocked, but I am. It’s sad that a minister would feel the need to write something like this.

    • If he would have just taken a few seconds to do some research he would have found his words to be untrue. The truth is he wanted his congregation to see unbelievers as bad, uncaring, selfish, unhelpful people. That’s how he views them himself. It is sad, but not surprising.

  2. bumfuzzled says:

    I hadn’t seen or heard the video footage (either one.). It’s one of the stranger things I’ve seen on a news cast, but I have to say she was rather charming and handled it much more gracefully than I could have. I can’t stand Glenn Beck and can’t believe he’s still on air.

    I saw the letter from the preacher on Facebook the other day through Foundation Beyond Belief. When I read things like that it takes me back to junior high. That’s the kind of things teens and Tweens write. “We’re so special” “We’re better than them” “They’re so stupid (dumb) (ugly).”

    It seems so strange to me that we’re all human beings living on the same planet facing the same adversities and instead of joining together to form a great alliance in our defense we’re too busy fighting with each other about where we came from. I mean, if a group of people are facing a tidal wave are they going to stand there and argue about whether they traveled to the beach in a car, on a bike or by foot?

    • It was a bit if a weird interview. She did handle it well though.

      I agree, we could be much more and do much more if we would stop arguing and trying to one up each other.

    • confused says:

      I think it’s funny that you start your comment with “I can’t stand Glenn Beck…” and end with the thought that we should all just get along. Does that include you with Mr. Beck, or only those you can stand?

      I too am from Oklahoma, and I am a firm believer in Jesus Christ. Does that mean that I like every Christian? Nope. Does it mean that I only like Christians? Nope. I like some people and I don’t like others. What I don’t understand is the open hostility on both sides of just about every argument out there today. Why make hateful comments about each other? Just leave each other alone, respect each other’s right to have an opinion and move on. Quoting Barack Obama OR Glenn Beck doesn’t make anyone superior.

      • Dear Confused,

        I’m not sure who your comment was directed at. I never said I hated Glenn Beck. Nor do I feel quoting anyone makes you superior to anyone else, so I think you are mistaken in that assumption.

        I firmly believe everyone has the right to chose what they believe. It is when one group tries to force their beliefs on the rest of us, acting as if they and their belief is superior is where I have an issue. It would be lovely if everyone just got along, but that will never happen. There is too much diversity in the world. People are passionate about what they believe. That includes ALL beliefs and non beliefs. I like people and have friends of different beliefs. If they want to talk about what they think and believe and how things should go that’s great, but you better believe I’m going to do the same. I have the same rights and I won’t be shut up just because you don’t like what I say.

      • bumfuzzled says:

        I guess I’m the one you’re referring to. And yes, I can’t stand to watch or listen to Glenn Beck because almost everything that spews from his mouth IS open hostility. He doesn’t seem to be one who WANTS to get along.

        If he were stranded and needed my help, I would absolutely give it to him, with kindness and compassion. But as far as listening to him or choosing to be around him, no thank you.

Leave a Reply

