What I’ve Been Reading

I’ve read quite a few books here lately, some better than others. So I thought I’d share with my fellow book lovers.

nightcircusI read the Night Circus about 6 months ago. It was a suggestion in the comment section from my last post about books I’ve read. It was probably the strangest book I have ever read. It was good, but weird. I’ve never read a book quite like it. I thought it went on a bit too long in parts, but it was unique and I liked that. So if you want to read an unusual, but intriguing book about magic and a circus at night then I would suggest the Night Circus.

growingupdead

This next few books I read was part of a series. I got the suggestion on Facebook from Anne Rice’s page. The first Growing up Dead is about a young boy named Mortimer, who does not understand what is happening to him. He learns that his father is a vampire and that he himself is beginning to make the changes and turn vampire himself. The first book covers his struggles with what he is becoming and how he has another side of family that he never knew existed. The second Out of the Underworld and third Hope Against Hope was about how Mortimer is dealing with some major changes in his family as well as major changes in the world. Here’s were I have to admit, though I thought the story was interesting but the editing was so terrible that it distracted me and by the third book I was distracted so much by it that I didn’t finish the last few chapters. I’m not a big stickler for a few typos or errors, but they were riddled with them. However, I have been told by the author himself(Greg Wilkey) and his editor, that the errors have been fixed. I was glad to hear that, perhaps I can finish reading the last few chapters of the third book. I also heard that there is a fourth book as well.

deconvertedBeing that I shared my deconversion story, I like to read other people’s deconversion stories too. While looking on Amazon I found a book by Seth Andrews Deconverted: A Journey from Religion to Reason. It was then I realized Seth Andrews is the guy behind The Thinking Atheist and he’s from Oklahoma too. I enjoyed his story and I could identify with some of the experiences Seth has had where his family is concerned. It was a quick and easy read and I’d suggest it if you enjoy reading how someone got from believer to unbeliever.

lobdellGoing with the theme of deconversion stories, I next read Losing my Religion: How I Lost My Faith Reporting on Religion in America and Found Unexpected Peace, by William Lobdell. I found this book very interesting. Mr. Lobdell, who was on the verge of converting to Catholicism realized, while covering religion in America for a large newspaper in California, his beliefs had began to change and with that he realized he could not go on with becoming Catholic and instead loss his faith all together.

positiveWhat I’m reading now is Positive Discipline A-Z: 1001 Solutions to Everyday Parenting Problems. I’m not done yet, but so far so good. I agree with most of it and have begun to use some of it. So far so good.

What are you reading?

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Interesting, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’ve Been Reading

  1. jinkies says:

    I’m glad you liked The Night Circus! Because I had never read anything like it, was exactly why I loved it so much. They’re also making it into a movie and it’s rumored that Terry Giliam is going to be the director.
    Right now I’m reading Wolf Hall which is very good, just labor-intensive reading. I will be starting to read Wonder soon for my book club group. I really want to pick back up Game of Thrones. I love the show and did start to read it but I wasn’t in the frame of mind to read a wordy book.

  2. Heather says:

    I too read The Night Circus. It wasn’t one of my favorites, but I’m glad I read it.

    I just picked up a dozen books at our Youth Ranch. Gotta love second hand books. Can’t wait to start getting into them. =)

Leave a Reply

