Crazy Busy

It has been a busy few months.

Late August school started and that’s always an adjustment. Having to get up earlier and go to bed earlier and do homework. it took a week or so to get in the groove of that. A few days after school started, I had my tooth prepped for a crown. I’d been putting it off for over a year, but had to have it done so I didn’t further damage my tooth. A temporary crown was placed, and it was one of the most painful experiences I’ve had. For three weeks I dealt with severe nerve pain. I was miserable and was unsure if it would last only until my permanent crown was placed or if it would last weeks, months or years. I thought I was experiencing nerve damage from the numbing shot, but after it was all said and done, I think it was that the temporary crown was pressing on a nerve. I rotated Loratab and 600 mg ibuprofen  for the three weeks. Placing the permanent crown was so painful I was shaking, but thankfully after a few days of pain meds and placing cold compresses on my face, I began to feel better. I occasionally have a little pain, feels kind of like my tooth is bruised, but I will take that any day over what it was feeling like.

That took up most of early to mid September. Late September my mother in law began to feel sick. After several doctor visits she was diagnosed with pneumonia. Her antibiotics didn’t work and she ended up in the hospital. While being taken for a routine test she passed out from lack of oxygen hit her head went into cardiac arrest and then aspirated vomit as she came to. She is currently in ICU on life support. She seems to be getting better, but it will be several more days until we can even think about waking her out of sedation and potentially pulling the tube.

Today was my birthday, but we’ve been too busy and too worried to celebrate. Maybe when things slow down.

Also, all of us are wracked with terrible allergies, that make going outside to enjoy the beautiful weather no fun at all.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in About Me, Life, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Crazy Busy

  1. ... Zoe ~ says:

    Oh my heart goes out to you. All kinds of stress for you and your family. And your MIL’s situation sounds serious. I hope things stabilize for all of you soon. (((hugs)))

  2. sylvia says:

    So sorry for all you have been going through lately. Hope things get back to normal soon.

  3. bumfuzzled says:

    Oh wow! You’ve really been bit hard! I’m glad they finally got your tooth fixed. My husband has gone through several of those and you’re right, it ain’t no picnic, that’s for sure.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your MIL. What a terrifying time this has to be. I hope you guys are getting lots of support.

    My heart goes out to you and your family as you deal with all this.

  4. Wild thing says:

    I’m really, really sorry to hear this. How awful! In the old days, this is when I’d say I’d pray for you and your family, but now I admit its hard to think of anything to say without sounding kinda lame. I just hope everything will turn out all right!

  5. jinkies says:

    You and your family are in my thoughts. I hope everything from here on out is smooth sailing.

    Also, I hope you’re able to celebrate your birthday soon. Do one little kind thing for yourself, ok?
    🙂

Leave a Reply

