Book Review- Cults and Closets Coming Out of Chaos.

Several months ago Troy Fitzgerald contacted me and asked if I’d be interested in reading his soon to be released book Cults and Closets Coming out of the Chaos.  As you know I’m always up for a read, so I said yes.

My review follows.

cultsandclosets

Cults and Closets Coming out of the Chaos is written by Troy Fitzgerald. In the book he describes in detail his early life in a cult religion, being a pastors kid, and feeling as if he never really fits in. All the while struggling to hide his true thoughts and feelings for fear of disappointing his family and being rejected.

Those thoughts and feeling continue into adulthood, where Mr. Fitzgerald begins to find his true self. His book documents his journey out of religion as well as out of the closet as a homosexual and continues on his journey to find his true self. The self he has spent a life time not only hiding from his family and loved ones, but hiding from himself as well. As the book comes to a close he has this bit to offer his readers.

“It’s time to stop supporting the cults and it’s time to stop pushing one another into closets. We have to take responsibility as a society for creating these cults and closets and tear them down, open them up- liberate one another and embrace our humanity, our authentic selves. We have to stop being so afraid of our own humanity.”

Many of us are afraid for one reason or another, to be who we really are. Cults and Closets is a book about becoming who you are and embracing the journey it took to get there.

Disclaimer-I received this book free. All that was required of me is that I write a review on my site after I was done reading. 

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

