PTO Stuff

I’m in the PTO this year. I didn’t want to be, but after a year of the PTO president, telling me how much they need dependable people like me I caved. I don’t hate it, but sometimes it’s hard for introverted me to drag myself to the meetings. I don’t mind helping once I’m there.

We had a Bingo night the other day and all our proceeds whet to a church. I really had to think on how I felt about that. It just didn’t go to the church it went to the food pantry. The food pantry at that church is filled by donations from the congregation mostly. However, we took in can goods for Bingo cards and had a concession stand. We collected a good amount of cans and I don’t know how much money went to the church yet for the pantry. The money part was news to me. I just assumed that the PTO would be keeping the money proceeds, but nope. I think that some of the other members were surprised that the PTO got nothing. We don’t have much money in our funds and so there was some disappointment I think.

I decided that I was ok with it going to the food pantry as it serves my community. No matter your religion or lack there of, if you are hungry, you need help and most of that help, if not all, will come from one of the many churches in my small community. As long as it goes to help someone in need I supposed I’m ok with it. I just hope that it doesn’t also come with too much propaganda.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Agnostic, Atheist, God, Tales from the Bible Belt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

