Getting Rid of Cable

On New Years Eve, we had our cable shut off. I’d thought about it from time to time, but was always too afraid to just let it go. I was worried how I’d watch all my shows(and there is an embarrassing amount of them.)  Then the bill kept going up and when we got tired of that we called and tried to cancel so we could go with a different company that was a bit cheaper. While trying to do that our cable company offered to match the other company’s price, only catch was we would have to call back every few months and go through the whole thing again or our bill would go up. Each time this bugged me more. We were only watching a few favorite channels.

Then I came across this post and this one. I read all the comments and there were only a few, mostly sports watchers, who regretted it and had the cable turned back on. We are not sports watchers, so that won’t be a problem.

It’s been about five days now and so far we’ve not missed it one bit. We already had Netflix, and Amazon Prime. We added a Roku and Hulu Plus and have more than enough to watch.  Even after we added Hulu and the Roku we are still saving 100 dollars a month. That gets us closer to our goal of being debt free.

Has anyone else given up cable? I am surprised that a lot of people seem to be doing just that.

About theagnosticswife

Living in the bible belt, in middle America, with a once Christian husband who has turned Agnostic. I no longer know what I believe.
This entry was posted in Interesting, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting Rid of Cable

  1. suzan says:

    I would love to get rid of cable, but the hubby is far to attached to it. 🙂 Imagine how much more free time he would have! I rarely watch tv and prefer to spend my boob tube time watching Netflix. I love not being bombarded with commercials.

  2. Annie says:

    So much stuff is accessible online nowadays but I’m addicted to EPL Football (soccer) which is so hard to find live games of. I’m thinking about sucking it up and just getting an online subscription somewhere. Besides, I lived without TV in Manhattan for 5 years so I HOPE I can do it again.

  3. artsifrtsy says:

    I’d ditch satellite if I could get better internet service out here in the sticks – sure sounds appealing!

  4. Michael Mock says:

    We use cable for the Internet connection, but we don’t have – and haven’t had – cable for television. The only issue I’ve noticed is that I tend to be “behind” or “out of touch” on current television shows; co-workers would be discussing LOST, or Battlestar Galactica, and I’d be looking at them blankly. However, it’s also easy enough to pick things up online, or on DVD – and it’s a real advantage with the boys. When the boys are watching something on DVD, eventually it comes to an end. With cable, it just goes on and on and on…

  5. Ashley S says:

    We cut the cable cord in September and while I thought it would be rough, it’s actually been quite nice. DH and I are both full-time students now and so we haven’t had the time to watch tv or movies anyways. We’ve had Netflix for years, and I was very excited when they recently added Disney movies and shows, and over Christmas break we tried out Hulu Plus but were totally unimpressed, so now we just use the free version. Our PC is hooked up to the tv, so we can stream everything as if we were watching it off a DVR. DH is not into sports at all, so that’s not an issue for us. Overall, I don’t think any of us miss it at all.

  6. cassie says:

    we were actually only paying $30 a month for our cable, but we rarely watched it. we didn’t have dvr either, so I felt like whenever I actually wanted to sit down and turn on the tv, out of our 100+ channels there was NOTHING worthwhile on, so frustrating! Ours is getting disconnected tomorrow but I don’t think we’ll miss it. We have netflix, but the only shows I watch can be seen on the network websites (like The Office and Parks and Recreation). I’ve heard that the quality of the HD channels is significantly better with an HD anntena than with a cable subscription (because the cable provider compresses the quality).

Leave a comment